California’s DUI laws can be complex and confusing. In this section, our attorneys break down the rules and explain the process.
Call or Message Us 24/7
Some short-term costs of a violation of a DUI law include:
Some long-term costs of a DUI include:
In California, the two most basic DUI laws include:
Short-term “costs” of a DUI charge include both monetary losses because of the charge and hardships imposed due to DUI penalties.
Some short-term costs associated with a DUI include:
The long-term costs associated with a DUI charge refer to those that a defendant suffers long after he has completed, or fulfilled, all of the penalties associated with the crime.
These long-term costs may include:
VC 23152a is the California statute that says it is illegal for a motorist to drive a car while under the influence of alcohol and/or any drugs. “Driving under the influence” means that a motorist’s mental and/or physical faculties are impaired to such a degree that he no longer has the ability to drive with the caution characteristic of a sober person.
Vehicle Code 23152b is the California statute that makes it a crime for a person to drive with a BAC of 0.08% or greater.
The penalties for both of these offenses include the short- and long-term costs discussed above.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
If you’re on probation in Riverside County, California, you no doubt want your probationary period to end sooner rather than later. California law provides judges with the power to set the length of probation as well as modify the terms of probation. As such, judges can shorten the length of probation for individuals who file ...
A Colorado DWAI conviction remains on your criminal record forever. There is no way to seal or expunge DWAI (or DUI) convictions of people prosecuted in Colorado criminal court. The only exceptions involve convictions of the Colorado crime of underage drinking and driving (UDD) and juvenile court cases. Record expungements for “Underage Drinking and Driving” ...
The average cost of an ignition interlock device (IID) is between $70 and $100 per month. The ignition interlock provider might also charge an installation fee, which is typically between $75 and $100. Depending on the severity of a person’s driving under the influence (DUI) offense, and the number of months a person has to use ...
Police don’t actually need “probable cause” to pull you over for California DUI. But they do need “reasonable suspicion”–which in practice is hard to distinguish from “probable cause.” Probable cause is a key concept in American constitutional law. Under the Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, law enforcement officers need probable cause to arrest a ...