On the one hand, your driver’s license will be suspended if you are convicted of DUI. On the other hand, you also will be required to attend an in-person alcohol education program known as “DUI school” for anywhere from three to 30 months. But how can you travel to your DUI school classes if you are not allowed to drive?
(UPDATE 2019: Most drivers can continue driving without limitation following a DUI conviction if they get an ignition interlock device (IID) in their car. California Senate Bill 1046 (2019). Otherwise, they can get a restricted license, discussed below.)
The answer is a “restricted license.” Many people convicted of DUI in California are eligible to receive a restricted license that allows them to drive only:
To and from work,
To and from school, and
To and from court-ordered DUI education programs.
Restricted licenses are easiest to obtain for first-time DUI offenders. First-time DUI defendants are eligible to get a restricted license either immediately after their license is suspended by the court or thirty (30) days after it is suspended by the California DMV.
If this is your second DUI within a ten (10)-year period, you will have to wait ninety (90) days to receive a restricted license–and will have to install an ignition interlock device in your car as a condition of the restricted license.
Defendants facing their third DUI within 10 years will have the hardest time of all. They can obtain a restricted license as well–but only if they:
Wait eighteen (18) months,
Install an ignition interlock device, AND
Attend the first twelve (12) months of an 18- or 30-month DUI school program.
In other words, defendants sentenced to a third or subsequent DUI will have to attend a year’s worth of DUI school without the means to drive to it themselves. They will have no choice but to take public transportation or obtain rides from family or friends–or else risk violating their probation and/or being charged with driving on a suspended license.
Also, if you were driving a commercial vehicle at the time you picked up a DUI, you will not be eligible for a restricted license at all–and will have to find alternative transportation to DUI school.
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
One of the basic California DUI probation terms that gets imposed in connection with a DUI sentence is that the defendant not drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in his/her system. A person that violates this term may be found in violation of his/her probation and may have to serve a county jail sentence. ...
ARS 28-1383 makes a fourth-time DUI in a 7-year period in Arizona an aggravated DUI, which is a class 4 felony. Penalties include a mandatory minimum of an 8-month prison sentence, $4,000 in fines, and a 1-year driver’s license suspension. In addition, the defendant must take traffic survival school as well as an alcohol and ...
Driving on a suspended driver’s license (CRS 42-2-138) following a DUI is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense carrying at least 10 days in jail. If the license was suspended for non-DUI reasons, then driving on a suspended license is a class A traffic infraction carrying $15 to $100 in fines. Colorado’s legal term for ...
It depends. Both breath tests and blood tests have pros and cons in Nevada DUI cases. 1. What are the pros and cons of a breath test in Nevada? The advantages of a breath test in a Nevada DUI case are as follows: breathalyzers test only for alcohol, so they will not show if the ...