California’s DUI laws can be complex and confusing. In this section, our attorneys break down the rules and explain the process.
Call or Message Us 24/7
DUI » Attention Parents: California Police May Interrogate Your Child In Your Absence Following a DUI Arrest » Attention Parents: California Police May Interrogate Your Child In Your Absence Following a DUI Arrest
With the end of school, the fourth of July and summer parties comes underage drinking and driving. Being arrested is a scary experience for anyone. And if it’s scary for an adult, imagine how much more so it must be for a child. Obviously, no one wants to receive a call that his/her child has been arrested for DUI. But just in case this nightmare turns into a reality, you may want to talk to your children about California DUI laws regarding juvenile interrogation.
If your child is stopped on suspicion of drunk driving, California police are permitted to ask him/her questions in order to determine whether or not he/she has been drinking and driving. If they believe he/she has been…and place him/her under arrest…they may try to trick him/her into confessing to the offense or into making other incriminating statements. Make sure you prepare him/her for this experience in the unfortunate event that he/she finds him/herself in this situation.
Because California laws permit officers to conduct juvenile interrogations outside the presence of the child’s parents, parents should instruct their children to
Other than providing his/her identifying information, your child is under no obligation to provide any additional information/answers. The biggest mistake that any arrestee makes is believing that he/she can talk his/her way out of the situation…this may especially be the case for a child who has been drinking. Prepare him/her for the worst and hope he/she will never have to utilize this information.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Open container laws in most jurisdictions make it illegal for a person to have an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of a car. DUI laws, on the other hand, make it a crime for a person to either drive under the influence of alcohol, or drive with a BAC of .08% or ...
A first-time DUI in Henderson, Nevada is usually prosecuted as a misdemeanor, presuming no one was seriously hurt or killed. In addition to a fine of up to $1,000, vehicle impoundment, license revocation, DUI school or substance abuse treatment, and other Nevada DUI penalties, you will wind up spending a minimum of 48 hours in the Clark ...
Many California illegal weapons charges, such as Penal Code 12020 PC, California’s law against possessing dangerous weapons, stem from police investigations that have little or nothing to do with weapons. This is because many firearms and other weapons are discovered during searches that are incident to lawful…and sometimes unlawful…arrests. When the police stop people for ...
Xanax is a drug that can be legally prescribed in California. If a person has a legal prescription for Xanax, it is lawful for him to drive after taking the drug, if taken as a medication. However, it is illegal under California Vehicle Code 23152(f) for a motorist to drive under the influence of drugs ...