Class B traffic infractions in Colorado are minor traffic violations that are punishable by $15 to $100 plus a small surcharge and no DMV points. As civil cases, class B traffic infractions carry no jail time. But failure to pay can result in a driver’s license revocation. And class B traffic infractions cannot be sealed from the person’s record.
In this article, our Colorado criminal defense attorneys discuss:
- 1. What are class B traffic infractions?
- 2. What is the sentence for class B traffic infractions in Colorado?
- 3. Will I lose my license for not paying?
- 4. What are examples?
- 5. When are class B traffic infractions sealable?
- 6. Will a bench warrant issue if I fail to appear?
- 7. Can I have a jury trial?
- 8. Can I keep my guns?
1. What are class B traffic infractions?
Class B traffic infractions are a category of Colorado traffic violations under state law. They are less serious than class A traffic infractions. And unlike misdemeanor traffic offenses, Colorado traffic infractions are civil – not criminal.1
2. What is the sentence for class B traffic infractions in Colorado?
Class B traffic infraction sentences include no jail time under Colorado state law. Instead, the punishment consists of fines ranging from $15 to $100 plus a surcharge. And they do not carry points on the person’s driver’s license.2
Note that defendants may be able to do community service / public service in lieu of a fine with the judge’s permission.
3. Will I lose my license for not paying?
Yes. People with unpaid class B traffic infraction tickets in Colorado have what is called an outstanding judgment warrant (OJW). People with an OJW will have their driver’s license suspended by the Colorado Department of Revenue (DMV). And the DMV will block the issuance or renewal of a driver’s license to anyone with an OJW.
Once a person has an OJW, he/she must pay the ticket all at once – not in installments. People who continue driving despite having an OJW face a class A traffic infraction ticket for driving under restraint (CRS 42-2-138).3
People who paid their overdue traffic infraction tickets must apply to reinstate the license, which carries an additional $95 fee.
4. What are examples?
Five examples of class B traffic infractions in Colorado include the following traffic law violations:
- Driving with an expired license (CRS 42-2-101), expired less than one year
- Permitting an unauthorized person to drive (CRS 42-2-140)
- Permitting an unauthorized minor to drive (CRS 42-2-139)
- Driving without license plates (CRS 42-3-202)
- Driving a motor vehicle without a seat belt (CRS 42-4-237)
Therefore, class B traffic infractions are minor violations of traffic regulations.
See the state government’s official list of class B traffic infractions.
5. When are class B traffic infractions sealable?
Never. Class B traffic infractions can never be sealed from Colorado driving records. They remain on people’s records forever.4
Learn more about Colorado criminal record seals.
6. Will a bench warrant issue if I fail to appear?
No, not for class B traffic infractions. Instead, the county court- or municipal court judge will impose a judgment against defendants who either fail to pay or fail to show up to court appearances.5
7. Can I have a jury trial?
No. But Colorado drivers cited for class B traffic infractions can have a bench trial, where a judge decides the verdict.6
8. Can I keep my guns?
Yes. Class B traffic infractions do not affect firearm rights in Colorado.7
Arrested or cited in Colorado? Our traffic and criminal defense lawyers negotiate aggressively with the district attorney in attempt to get the case reduced or dismissed. We create attorney-client relationships in Denver, Colorado Springs, Greeley, and throughout the state.
Go to our main Colorado infractions page.
See our related articles on careless driving (CRS 42-4-1402) – including on a scooter, exceeding the speed limit (CRS 42-4-1101) – including in a school zone or construction zone, reckless driving (CRS 42-4-1401), eluding law enforcement / peace officers / police officers (CRS 42-4-1413), DUI, hit-and-run causing bodily injury (CRS 42-4-1603) and petty offenses.
Disclaimer: Results cannot be guaranteed.
- Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-1701; see also People v. Cherry (2005) 119 P.3d 1081; see also Carlson v. Ferris (2003) 85 P.3d 504.
- CRS 42-4-1701; CRS 42-4-1709.
- CRS 42-4-1710; CRS 42-4-1716; CRS 42-2-122; CRS 42-2-138 (subsection 1.5).
- CRS 24-72-701 – 708.
- CRS 42-4-1710.
- CRS 42-4-1708.
- See CRS 18-12-108; see Colorado Constitution, Article IV, § 7.