Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
CRS 42-2-140 makes it a Class B traffic infraction in Colorado to permit an unauthorized person to drive a motor vehicle. An unauthorized person is one who does not have a currently valid driver’s license or instruction permit. The offense is punishable by a fine of up to $100.00.
CRS 42-2-140 states that “(1) No person shall authorize or knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by such person or under such person’s hire or control to be driven upon any highway by any person who has not been issued a currently valid driver’s or minor driver’s license or an instruction permit or shall cause or knowingly permit such person to drive a motor vehicle upon any highway in violation of the conditions, limitations, or restrictions contained in a license or permit which has been issued to such other person.”
In this article, our Colorado criminal defense lawyers will address:
Under CRS 42-2-140, no person shall authorize or knowingly permit a motor vehicle to be driven by any person who has not been issued a currently valid driver’s license. Permitting an unauthorized individual to drive is a class B traffic infraction and may result in a fine.
An unauthorized driver includes any person without a currently valid driver’s license, minor driver’s license, or instruction permit. An unauthorized driver does not refer to a driver who took a vehicle without the owner’s permission, which may be a separate crime of aggravated motor vehicle theft. Neither does “unauthorized driver” refer to an individual’s legal status. Colorado has issued driver’s licenses to immigrant residents since 2014.
The penalties for allowing an unauthorized driver to operate your vehicle include a fine ranging from $15 to $100, and a surcharge fee. It does not add points to your driving record. However, if you fail to pay the traffic infraction fine, you may not be able to renew your driver’s license until you pay all fines and costs.
Driving without a valid license can be a much more serious offense for the driver than the owner. The owner who permitted the driver to get behind the wheel may be issued a ticket; however, the driver may face criminal charges. If the driver has a license but it is not in their possession, or if their license has expired within the past year, driving without a license is a class B traffic infraction, the same as for the vehicle owner. 1
If the driver has never been issued a license, they may be in violation of C.R.S. 42-2-101. Driving without a valid license for which the driver has not been issued the correct type or class of license is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense.2 Penalties for driving without being issued a license include a fine.
If the driver has a restricted license, they may be facing criminal charges for operating a motor vehicle. Under C.R.S. 42-2-138, any person who drives with their license under restraint for a reason other than a DUI conviction is guilty of a misdemeanor.3 This includes a suspended or revoked license for failure to pay traffic tickets, excessive points on your driving record, or failure to pay child support. Penalties may include up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $500. A second or subsequent conviction may result in the individual losing their eligibility for a driver’s license for three years.
If the driver has a revoked driver’s license because of a DUI, DWAI, or underage drunk driving, they may be charged with a misdemeanor criminal offense. Penalties include a minimum of 30 days in jail, up to a maximum of one year, and a fine of up to $1,000. A second or subsequent conviction is punished by 90 days up to 2 years in prison, and a fine of up to $3,000.4
Permitting an unauthorized person to drive is similar to the offense of permitting an unauthorized minor to drive a car. Driving without your license may result in a similar traffic infraction. In some cases, a driver allows an unauthorized driver to operate their vehicle because they are too intoxicated to drive. However, if an impaired driver does decide to get behind the wheel, they may be facing a DUI arrest.
Permitting a minor (under the age of 18) to drive is a class B infraction in Colorado under CRS 42-2-139. The penalties are similar to permitting an unauthorized person to drive, including a fine of up to $100.
Operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or drugs, is a criminal offense in Colorado under CRS 42-4-1301. The penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol include jail time, fines, a suspended license, and increased insurance costs.
If you were ticketed for permitting an unauthorized person to drive or other traffic violation, please contact us at Colorado Legal Defense Group. Our caring Colorado defense attorneys have many years of experience representing clients who have been charged with motor vehicle violations and criminal offenses. We are among the best Colorado criminal defense attorneys to call. Contact us today for a free consultation by phone or in-person or in our Denver law office.
It is a crime to urinate in public in Colorado. Colorado’s law against public indecency (CRS 18-7-301) makes it illegal to knowingly expose your genitals to someone else in a way that is “likely to cause affront or alarm.” This includes public urination. There are stories that it was recently made legal to urinate ...
Whether it is legal to shoot a BB gun in Colorado depends on the specific location. People should refer to the local county or municipal code for guidance on whether shooting BB guns is legal. Discharging BB guns is usually illegal in populated cities, such as: Aurora: Municipal Code 94-146 Boulder: Municipal Code 5-8-3 Colorado ...
Driving without current and valid vehicle registration in Colorado is a class B traffic infraction punishable by $15 to $100, a small surcharge, and no DMV points. (Colorado drivers must re-register every 12 months.)1 Can I go to jail? No. Driving without valid and current registration in Colorado does not carry jail as a potential ...
Hit and run is generally treated as a felony charge only if the accident caused an injury to another person. Leaving the scene of an accident that only causes property damage is usually treated as a misdemeanor. In some states, the amount of property damage can also turn a misdemeanor hit and run into a ...