Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
In Colorado, allowing an unauthorized minor to drive a vehicle is a class B traffic infraction under CRS 42-2-139. Parents who permit their unlicensed child to get behind the wheel can result in a fine of up to $100.
In this article, our Denver Colorado criminal defense lawyers will address:
Under CRS 42-2-139, no parent or guardian shall cause or knowingly permit his or her child or ward under the age of 18 to drive a motor vehicle when the minor has not been issued a currently valid driver’s license or instruction permit. Permitting an unauthorized minor to drive is a class B traffic infraction and may result in a fine.
In some cases, parents may face additional penalties if allowing the child to drive places the child or other children in danger. Under CRS 18-6-401, a person commits child abuse if they permit a child to be unreasonably placed in a situation that poses a threat of injury to the child’s life or health.1 If the child is not physically harmed, the parents may still face a misdemeanor child abuse charge. However, if the child suffers serious bodily injury, the parents may be charged with felony child abuse. 2
The penalties for allowing an unauthorized minor to drive to operate your vehicle include a fine ranging from $15 to $100, and a surcharge fee. It does not add points to your driving record. However, if you fail to pay the traffic infraction fine, you may not be able to renew your driver’s license until you pay all fines and costs.
Some parents may think that allowing their child to drive is ok. This may include occasions when the parent is physically unable to drive because of an injury, unsafe to drive because of alcohol or drugs, to run an errand or pick up another child from school. Whatever the reason, under Colorado law, parents can be ticketed for allowing a child to drive without a license or instruction permit. A minor behind the wheel is a safety concern for the child and the public.
Even if a child is mature and responsible, they are required to go through the procedures to get an instruction permit or driver’s license before they can safely operate a vehicle. Minors in Colorado must be over the age of 15 before they can get a Colorado Instruction Permit. Minors under the age of 16 have to attend and complete a state-approved 30-hour Driver Education Class, pass the written test, show identifying documents and proof of physical Colorado address. A parent or guardian must also complete an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (DR2460).
Permitting an unauthorized minor to drive is similar to the offense of permitting an unauthorized person to drive a car. Driving without your license may result in a similar traffic infraction. In some cases, a driver allows an unauthorized minor to operate his or her vehicle because they are too intoxicated to drive. However, if an impaired driver does decide to get behind the wheel, they may be facing a DUI arrest. Underage drivers are held to an even higher standard with a zero-tolerance policy towards underage drinking and driving.
Permitting an unauthorized person to drive is a class B infraction in Colorado under CRS 42-2-140. The penalties are similar to permitting an unauthorized minor to drive, resulting in a fine of between $15 and $100. However, an unauthorized driver may face additional penalties if they do not have a valid license.
Operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or drugs, is a criminal offense in Colorado under CRS 42-4-1301. A blood alcohol content (BAC) of higher than 0.08% is a per se violation, although drivers can be convicted even if their BAC is below 0.08%. The penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol include jail time, fines, a suspended license, and increased insurance costs.
In Colorado, it is a criminal offense for drivers under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or drugs. Under CRS 42-4-1301, the penalties for underage drinking and driving (UDD) include fines, a 3-month suspended license, community service, drug or alcohol education, and increased insurance costs.
If you were ticketed for permitting an unauthorized minor to drive or charged with a traffic violation, please contact us at Colorado Legal Defense Group. Our caring Colorado defense attorneys have many years of experience representing clients who have been charged with motor vehicle violations and criminal offenses. We are among the best Colorado criminal defense attorneys to call. Contact us today for a free consultation by phone or in-person or in our Denver law office.
People who miss a required court date in Colorado – called failure to appear (FTA) – will likely have a bench warrant issued for their arrest. Also, the Colorado DMV may suspend the person’s driver’s license while the warrant is outstanding. Even if the judge later recalls the warrant, the judge may impose additional conditions ...
Legitimate escort companies are generally legal. An escort agency is essentially a business that provides its clients or customers with a companion for a certain fee. People might pay for an escort in order to have a friend or partner at: an entertainment event, a business event, or dinner. Escorts are prohibited from providing clients ...
What is a subpoena in Colorado? A subpoena is a court order mandating a potential witness to appear at a hearing or deposition on a specific time and date. And a subpoena duces tecum is a court order to produce documents or other tangible things listed in the subpoena. (The subpoena will specify whether the ...
The involuntary civil commitment process in Colorado allows police or medical professionals to detain someone in certain situations. The goal of this emergency detention is to protect someone who is suffering from mental problems. The detention can last for up to 72 hours. It can turn into a longer treatment after a court hearing. People cannot be held in jail ...