Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
No, there is no looting statute in the state of Colorado. Instead, suspected looters may instead face charges of theft or robbery depending on the circumstances. Looting typically occurs during natural disasters, a state of emergency, and rioting.
Sometimes people loot during otherwise peaceful protests. A recent example from throughout the United States are the demonstrations against President Trump and police brutality, particularly the Minneapolis police officers causing the death of George Floyd in Minnesota.
In an effort to prevent looting and vandalism and to promote public safety, police often impose a curfew. In extreme cases, the National Guard may be called to keep order.
Theft (a.k.a larceny) is intentionally stealing goods. Alleged shoplifters typically get charged with theft. The penalties for stealing turn on the value of the items stolen.
|Price of stolen property||Colorado penalties
|Less than $300||petty offense
|$300 to less than $1,000||class 2 misdemeanor
|$1,000 to less than $2,000||class 1 misdemeanor
|$2,000 to less than $5,000||Class 6 felony
|$5,000 to less than $20,000||Class 5 felony
|$20,000 to less than $100,000||Class 4 felony
|$100,000 to less than $1,000,000||Class 3 felony
|$1,000,000 or more||Class 2 felony
Four potential defenses to theft criminal charges are:
Another possible defense is that the police department committed misconduct. For instance, criminal defense lawyers can ask the court can suppress any evidence found through an illegal police search and seizure. This may leave prosecutors with too weak a case to bring looting charges.
Always a felony charge in Colorado, robbery is a more serious crime than theft. That is because robbery involves taking property from someone by use of force, threats, or intimidation. The classic example is holding up a cashier with a gun or a knife. In contrast, most shoplifting crimes are done in secret with no violence.
Robbery without a deadly weapon is a class 4 felony. The punishment is:
There is mandatory prison sentence of no less than 4 years (and possibly as much as 12) if the victim is an “at-risk” elder (person over 70) or is a disabled person.
Meanwhile, robbery while using a deadly weapon – called aggravated robbery – is a class 3 felony as well as an extraordinary risk crime The sentence is:
However, the maximum prison sentence becomes 32 years (with a mandatory minimum of 10 years) if during the robbery – or while fleeing from the scene – the suspect either:
Two potential defenses to robbery charges are:
As long as the district attorney has insufficient evidence to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, the charge should be dismissed.
Our office is based in Denver, but every day our DUI and criminal defense attorneys practice throughout the state including in Boulder and Colorado Springs. We are known and respected by the Denver District Attorney, Denver Police, and prosecutors and officers in all counties. We are offering payment plans and discount rates during the COVID-19 / coronavirus pandemic.
Prior to March 1, 2022, looting of less than $50 was a class 1 petty offense carrying up to 6 months in jail and/or up to $500 in fines; looting of $50 to less than $300 was a class 3 misdemeanor, carrying up to 6 months in jail and/or $50 to $750 in fines; looting of $300 to less than $750 was a class 2 misdemeanor, carrying 3 to 12 months in jail and/or $250 to $1,000 in fines; and looting of $750 to less than $2,000 was a class 1 misdemeanor, carrying 6 to 18 months in jail and/or $500 to $5,000 in fines. SB21-271.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
When Super Bowl 50 was played in Santa Clara, California in January 2015, it wasn’t the only game in town. Federal agents were busy as well, arresting multiple individuals accused of selling over a half-million dollars in counterfeit NFL merchandise. Selling counterfeit goods in Santa Clara County is a serious offense. California Penal Code Section ...
Theft of property or cash worth $2,000 or more (“grand theft“) is always a felony larceny charge in Colorado. The higher the value of the items stolen, the harsher the Colorado State Prison sentence and fines. Stealing $2,000 to less than $5,000 is class 6 felony theft, punishable by 12 to 18 months in prison ...
The 5 most common punishments for the crime of shoplifting include: a fine, placement in a diversion program, paying restitution, misdemeanor probation, and jail time. While people caught shoplifting for the first time will likely receive a punishment that is early on this list, offenders guilty of multiple shoplifting charges, or offenders that shoplift a ...
Also called larceny from a person, pick-pocketing (NRS 205.270) is always a category C felony under Nevada law – even for a first time offense. Defendants face a sentence of 1 to 5 years in prison, possibly up to $10,000 in fines, and restitution of the items or cash stolen. And if the pickpocketing victim ...