Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
Criminal Defense » Are registered sex offenders allowed to travel to Colorado?
Note that visitors must comply with the registration rules in their home state even while they are visiting out of state. And if their home state forbids them from leaving that state, then they may not go to Colorado or any other states.
Registered sex offenders in Colorado need to update their information annually (unless they are convicted of a quarterly offense, which requires updates every three months). In addition, they must re-register within five business days whenever they move or change their name.
Note that local jurisdictions often have rules restricting where registered sex offenders may go or reside. So people should always educate themselves ahead of time about the local rules before traveling to or staying in a new city or town in Colorado.
Penalties are steep for not registering as a sex offender in Colorado.
People convicted of a misdemeanor-level sex offense who then fail to register in Colorado face prosecution for an extraordinary risk class 1 misdemeanor. The sentence for misdemeanor failure to register is:
People convicted of a felony-level sex offense who then fail to register in Colorado face prosecution for a class 6 felony. The sentence is:
Note that a second or subsequent failure to register for a felony sex offense is prosecuted as a class 5 felony, carrying:
People convicted of a sex offense who do not have a fixed residence and fail to follow registration instructions face prosecution for a misdemeanor. A first or second offense carries a sentence of up to 30 days in jail. Subsequent convictions carry up to one year in jail.
Children under 18 who were not tried and convicted as an adult face lesser penalties for failing to register as a sex offender.
Juveniles adjudged delinquent of a misdemeanor-level sex offense face 30 days detention for failing to register. For a felony-level sex offense, the detention period is 45 days. And for a second or subsequent failure to register for a felony-level offense, the punishment is one year of detention.
The prosecutor should drop charges for failure to register if the defendant can show the following:
Alternatively, prosecutors should drop charges for failure to register if the state or local government made a clerical error which falsely showed that the defendant was non-compliant.
Colorado Revised Statutes 16-22-102(8)(c) C.R.S.
Colorado Revised Statutes 16-22-108(5) C.R.S.
Colorado Revised Statutes 18-3-412.5 C.R.S.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
Many people use the terms “prison” and “jail” interchangeably, but they are very different in Nevada. In general, prisons are long-term incarceration facilities for people who have been convicted of Nevada felonies. Jails are for everyone else. Note that each facility – be it a jail or prison – has its own policies regarding visitation, ...
With the exception of extremely violent crimes, you might be able to escape prosecution in Nevada if enough time has passed since you committed the offense. The majority of Nevada crimes have statutes of limitations, which spell out a time limit during which a D.A. may press charges for it. Whenever a prosecutor files charges ...
Under Nevada law, there is no difference between people who physically carry out a crime (“the principals”) and their accomplices who help them carry out the crime. Consequently, aiding and abetting someone to violate the law carries identical punishment as if the accomplice carried out the crime him/herself. Like it sounds, aiding and abetting is ...
California Penal Code 17330 PC holds that a “wallet gun” is any firearm mounted or enclosed in a case. Penal Code 24710 is the specific code section that makes these devices illegal. The case for these guns typically resembles a wallet, thus the name. A person can fire a wallet gun while it is still enclosed ...