|Address:||200 North 3rd Street, Burbank, CA 91502 Map|
|Front Lobby Hours:||7:00 A.M. to 9:00 P.M. daily|
|Website:||Burbank Police Department|
For men and women who have been convicted of a California misdemeanor crime, the Burbank Jail Pay to Stay program provides an upgraded experience compared to a typical county correctional facility. With approval from the court, these jail residents pay a daily fee for housing the BPD describes as “small, new, clean, and local.”
This jail is located about 13 miles from downtown Los Angeles off of I-5N. The address and main phone number of the Burbank Detention Facility is:
Provided by our team of California criminal defense lawyers, the following information may be of interest to friends/family members of current detainees in The Burbank Police Department Jail. We cover these key topics below:
- 1. How do I search for an inmate in Burbank?
- 2. How do I post bail at the Burbank Jail?
- 3. Can I call an inmate?
- 4. What are the visiting hours and policies?
- 5. What is “Pay to Stay”?
- 6. How can an inmate’s property be collected?
- 7. Legal Defense Help
1. How do I search for an inmate in Burbank?
To determine if your friend or loved one is in custody in the BPD Jail, you can go online to the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s “Inmate Information” search engine. After inputting a first and last name, you will be directed to a data page, which includes the subject’s date of birth and identifying physical characteristics. You will also find:
- The arrest date
- Detention location
- Booking number
- Criminal charge classification (felony or misdemeanor)
- Bail amount, if granted.
Alternatively, you can call the jail’s “inmate information hotline” at (818) 238-3333 to obtain specific information about a current detainee.
Note: An arraignment hearing generally will take place within a few days of arrest, and release/transfer typically occurs within four business days (weekends and holidays excluded.) Male defendants who must remain incarcerated (either because they can’t post bail have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense ) will generally be transferred to a larger Los Angeles County jail such as the Los Angeles Twin Towers Jail or the Los Angeles Men’s Central Jail. Women will be transferred to the Century Regional Detention Facility.
2. How do I post bail at the Burbank Jail?
Most criminal detainees are eligible for temporary release from incarceration through payment of a bail bond. Generally, bail payment will be collected at the jail or you can use the (fee-based) services of a licensed bail bondsman. At the BPD, you can make a cash bail payment at the office seven days a week, 24 hours a day.
3. Can I call an inmate?
Under California law, incoming jail detainees are allowed to make a few local phone calls free of charge. These calls are generally use to inform friends and family members of custody status and/or to seek the assistance of a criminal attorney.
Personal telephone calls are not accepted for Burbank Jail detainees and inmates. However, phones are available to inmates daily in the common areas. The general detainees and Pay to Stay inmates make outgoing personal calls on a collect basis. (Note that because these calls are subject to monitoring and recording, it is important to refrain from speaking about any pending criminal charges.)
Short term and Pay to Stay inmates cannot receive personal mail at the Burbank Detention Facility.
4. What are the visiting hours and policies?
Inmates who are detained at the Burbank Police Department Jail are allowed to receive one personal visit prior to release or transfer. (Attorneys and clergy are allowed unlimited visiting privileges.) Visiting hours for the general population are daily from 2:00 to 3:30 p.m. Depending upon how busy the jail is during the visitation period, your visit may be limited to 15 minutes or may be allowed to extend longer, at the discretion of staff.
For Burbank Pay to Stay inmates, visitation takes place each day from 4:00 to 5:30 p.m. Again, the visitation time slots are 15 minutes, but the visit may be extended if time allows.
Those who plan to visit the Burbank Jail, should know the following visitation policies:
- All adult visitors must present valid, government-issued, photo identification. Acceptable forms of ID include a driver’s license, passport, alien registration card, or U.S. military card.
- Visitors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
- You may not bring in anything to give to an inmate.
5. What is “Pay to Stay”?
Burbank is one of several Southern California cities that offer a Pay to Stay option for individuals sentenced to serve time for lower-risk crimes. The Burbank Jail’s Pay to Stay program accommodates those with misdemeanor sentences only. Participants are accepted with judicial approval, must be free of any serious medical conditions (or need for more than one medication) and must have medical insurance.
Pay to Stay provides an alternative to serving a jail sentence in a traditional county facility. The main benefit is segregated accommodations isolated from the general population. Pay to Stay “guests” stay in a private or semi-private cell and the common areas, including shower facilities, are inhabited by other Pay to Stay inmates only.
As of July 1, 2019, the daily fees for newcomers to the BPD Pay to Stay facility decreased to $100 per day. Those with court papers allowing for Pay to Stay participation can register at the BPD office any day from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Items to bring to registration include:
- Court Paperwork
- Government issued photo identification
- TB test results
- Medical insurance card
- $100 cash
Pay to Stay residents can choose to serve out their sentence in a few different ways. This includes serving consecutive days until the sentence is complete or limiting incarceration time to weekdays or weekends. (For the purposes of serving time in Burbank, a day starts and ends at 7:00 p.m.)
Note that Pay to Stay is not lock-up luxury living. Personal possessions and activities are limited and rules are strictly enforced by staff. For more information about Burbank Police Department Pay to Stay program rules, call the jail at (818) 238-3010.
6. How can an inmate’s property be collected?
All disallowed property is confiscated from incoming Burbank Jail inmates, and the property is then stored pending release. If desired, inmates can authorize a friend or family member to pick up property that is being stored at the jail. Once a property release authorization form is executed and on file, approved individuals can pick up inmate property with proper photo identification.
7. Legal Defense Help
An experienced lawyer can make a difference to the outcome of your Burbank criminal case. The experienced attorneys at the California Legal Defense Group defend men and women accused of all types of crimes, and demonstrate a strong record of results for past clients. We can help you get charges dropped or negotiate a much-preferred case outcome. To obtain a free consultation and case assessment, please call or contact us online.