DUI arrests don't always lead to convictions in court. Police officer mistakes, faulty breathalyzers and crime lab errors may get your charges reduced or dismissed. Visit our California DUI page to learn more.
In 2013, after drinking heavily at a Dodgers game, Jorge Velasquez, Jr., rode away on his bicycle. While going downhill on the wrong side of the road, he struck a pedestrian. The pedestrian suffered serious injuries and ended up in a coma for 10 days.
The DA wanted to charge Velasquez with reckless driving under Vehicle Code 23103–a crime that is usually charged in cases involving cars. But Velasquez argued that this crime didn’t apply to bicyclists.
An appeals court judge in Los Angeles took the prosecutor’s side and ruled (the opinion can be found here ) that Velasquez can be charged with “reckless bicycling” under VC 23103.
VC 23103 reckless driving is a potentially serious offense. It is normally a misdemeanor that carries a minimum sentence of 5 days in county jail. But if the defendant injures someone else seriously (as happened in this case), it can become a California felony.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Distracted driving is a serious safety issue in Henderson, Nevada and throughout the state. Driving while distracted causes more than 3,500 accidents every year on Nevada’s roads and highways according to the Nevada Department of Transportation and Nevada Department of Public Safety. Most of the attention on distracted driving, and the focus of Nevada’s distracted driving ...
Under Clark County Code 14.60.190, Las Vegas police have the discretion to ticket drivers who are not giving “full time and attention to the operation of a motor vehicle.” Theoretically, this includes drivers who are eating. Violating CCC14.60.190 by driving distracted is a misdemeanor in Nevada. The maximum penalties are 6 months in jail and/or ...