Every crime in California is defined by a specific code section. Our attorneys explain the law, penalties and best defense strategies for every major crime in California.
Yes, so long as the relationship is not sexual. If they have sexual intercourse, the 21-year-old can face criminal charges for statutory rape if they are not married. The penalties for statutory rape carry up to 3 years in jail. They can also land in deeper legal trouble if they drink or do drugs together.
The prohibition on sexual activity makes California different from many other states. California does not have a “Romeo and Juliet” law. This law allows minors of similar ages to engage in consensual sexual activity.
Anyone under the age of 18 cannot legally consent to sexual intercourse. This applies to both men and women. The law does not recognize a minor’s intent as legal consent, even if it is genuine. In the eyes of the law, anyone under the age of consent is too young for their consent to count.
Example: Paul and Mary have dated throughout high school. Paul is 18 and Mary is 17 when she offers to have sex with him. Because she is still underage, this is not consent.
Yes. Having sex with someone who is under the age of consent is a crime. In California, it is statutory rape. It is considered rape because it cannot be consensual. The young age of one of the people involved prevents them from consenting.
In California, statutory rape involving actors 4 years apart is a “wobbler.” It can be charged as either a felony or as a misdemeanor. The prosecutor decides what charge to file. Their decision is based on the facts of the case. Only the older sexual partner will be charged. The younger partner is seen as the “victim.”
The penalties of a conviction for statutory rape depend on whether it is being charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. The penalties also depend on the ages of the defendant and the alleged victim.
If charged as a felony against someone who is 21 for conduct with a 17-year-old, the penalties include:
If the 21-year-old is charged with a misdemeanor, the penalties are:
In addition to fines and jail time, a civil penalty can also be issued. The amount of this penalty depends on the ages of the parties involved. When they are 21 and 17, the civil penalty is $10,000.3 The penalty will also only be assessed against the 21-year-old.
However, a conviction for statutory rape does not require sex offender registration.4
In California, sexual intercourse means any act of penetration of the vagina or genitalia by the penis. Ejaculation is not required.5
The degree of penetration does not matter. It can be very slight and still amount to sexual intercourse.6
Example: Wearing nothing but underwear, Mary sits on Paul’s lap. Even though Paul cannot penetrate her, fully, it is still sexual intercourse.
Certain adults can face non-criminal penalties for dating a 17-year-old. For example:
Additionally, a 21-year-old can break other laws in the course of dating a 17-year-old. These include:
Yes. Sexual intercourse between spouses is not statutory rape. If the partners are lawfully married, the 21-year-old would not face statutory rape charges.
In California, there is no minimum age for marriage. Minors who want to get married need:
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
It depends. Most juvenile delinquencies are automatically sealed once the person turns 21. But some records may never be sealed. 1. When does Nevada law say that a juvenile record can get sealed? When someone gets adjudged delinquent as a juvenile in Nevada, the delinquency goes on that child’s juvenile record. When the child turns ...
If you’ve been convicted of multiple criminal offenses in Las Vegas or elsewhere, you could be labeled a “habitual criminal” by the state of Nevada. That dubious designation can result in more severe punishment if and when you are sentenced for another crime. NRS 207.010 defines who is a “habitual criminal” under Nevada law. The ...
The “exclusionary rule” allows judges in Colorado criminal cases to disregard (“exclude“) evidence that police have illegally obtained. 1. When are police searches in Colorado legal/not legal? Police are required to adhere to the Fourth Amendment‘s prohibition against unreasonable searches and seizures when conducting searches. In general, police must secure a Colorado search warrant before ...
Specific intent crimes are those where a prosecutor must prove, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the defendant intended to commit a certain harm. This means a specific intent is a necessary element of the crime itself. Examples of specific intent crimes are: arson, burglary, forgery, and robbery. In contrast, general intent crimes are offenses where ...