Every day innocent victims are injured or killed in Nevada auto accidents. Our attorneys can help you to get justice and compensation.
Call or Message Us 24/7
Laws » What license do you need to operate a motorcycle in Nevada? » What license do you need to operate a motorcycle in Nevada?
Nevada requires people to have a Class M license in order to drive motorcycles. You can get a license either by taking a test or completing a course. Alternatively, you can get a permit to practice driving motorcycles before getting a license. And people with out-of-state licenses can usually have their license transferred to Nevada.
In order to take the motorcycle knowledge and skills test (which has both written and driving elements), apply in person at a Nevada DMV location. Applicants who do not already have a driver’s license will have to take both the Class C and Class M tests. Applicants who currently have a driver’s license will only have to take the Class M test.
Tests currently costs $26 in addition to the applicable Nevada licensing fee. When you go to take the test, bring a current ID.
Applicants need to pass the knowledge test before taking the skills test. Some DMV offices require an appointment. Call your local DMV office for more information.
In order to prepare for the knowledge test, study from Nevada’s Motorcycle Operator Manual. Note that if you take the skills test on a motorcycle of less than 90cc, the DMV will restrict your Class M license to 90cc (called “Restriction U”).
People who fail the motorcycle skills test two times will need to take a course (discussed below) in order to get a Class M license.
Applicants who already have a regular driver’s license can avoid taking the motorcycle written and skills test by instead completing a course certified by MSF (Motorcycle Safety Foundation). Course participants do not need their own motorcycle nor an instruction permit. Click here for MSF course listings.
Once applicants finish the course, they have up to one (1) years to bring their MSF card (certificate of completion) to a DMV office to get their motorcycle license.
The Nevada DMV generally recognizes out-of-state motorcycle licenses (also called “endorsements”). Motorcyclists who move to Nevada can usually transfer their license without taking a test or a course.
People with out-of-state motorcycle licenses have 30 days after becoming a resident to do the following:
Click here for acceptable proofs of identity.
Motorcycle instruction permits allow permit-holders to practice driving in Nevada if they are supervised by a person who:
Permit holders must abide by the following restrictions:
In order to get an instruction permit, the applicant must pass a written knowledge test.
Adults who choose to get an instruction permit are still required to take the skills test if they want to eventually get a motorcycle license. The permit is good for only six (6) months and may be renewed only once every five (5) years.
People who fail the motorcycle skills test (discussed above) two times may not get any future motorcycle instruction permits. They will be required to take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course (also discussed above) to get a Class M license.
In order for people under 18 to get a motorcycle license, they must:
Instruction permits are valid for one (1) year and are renewable. They expire upon the permit-holder reaching age 18.
Remember that motorcyclists are required to wear helmets. Learn more about Nevada motorcycle helmet laws.
Also note that motorcycles need to be registered in Nevada just like other vehicles do.
If you have been injured in a motorcycle crash in Las Vegas, learn about filing a motorcycle accident lawsuit in Nevada.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Senate Bill 923 was signed into law by Gov. Brown in September 2018. The bill establishes several new standards that must be used in eyewitness identification procedures, as used in California criminal investigations. For example, under SB 923, immediately after viewing a lineup of suspects, an eyewitness has to provide a statement that voices his ...
The statute of limitations, or window of time in which a person can bring a PAGA claim, is generally 1 year. The Private Attorney General Act lets California workers file lawsuits against their employers for violating labor laws. To do so, the workers have to follow pre-filing requirements. This all has to be done before ...
Avoiding jail is often a priority for people who have been accused of a crime. Here are 5 common alternatives to jail in Colorado. Each of them can be an attractive option if you get convicted. 1. Suspended sentence A suspended sentence is a jail term that the judge puts on delay. You will only ...
Indictments in Nevada can take hours or several weeks, depending on the case. Most criminal felony cases never involve an indictment. Instead, the prosecutor usually submit an “information” to the judge alleging that there is probable cause to charge the defendant for a crime. Then later after the defendant is arraigned in Nevada (formally charged), ...