Every day innocent victims are injured or killed in Nevada auto accidents. Our attorneys can help you to get justice and compensation.
Call or Message Us 24/7
It is highly recommended that you contact a Las Vegas personal injury attorney before calling your insurance company to file a Nevada car accident claim. Depending on the case, the personal injury attorney can file a claim for you or else advise you what to say — and what not to say — to the insurance claims adjuster.
Even though you pay your insurance company hundreds — if not thousands — of dollars a year for coverage, you are not their priority. Your insurer only cares about paying out as little money as possible, whether it is to you or another driver. And they are quick to raise your premiums so they can make some of that money back.
Unless you were in a solo car accident and you plan to pay for the repairs yourself, you should always file a claim following a car accident. If you fail to file a claim and the other drivers involved in the crash do, it could hurt your ability to receive coverage.
You — or ideally your attorney — should call as soon as possible following the accident. Do not say anything that suggests you were at fault for the accident.
Another reason that it is a good idea for an experienced Las Vegas personal injury attorney to call on your behalf is that you may not be in your right mind after the collision. Understandably, being in a crash is traumatic, and you may feel extremely stressed and emotional. You never want to talk with an insurance adjuster unless you have a cool head.
The process of filing a claim simply requires calling the insurer’s claim phone number. It is on your insurance card information (which you should keep in your glove compartment), or else the phone number is easily searchable online. Common claims phone numbers are below:
Auto Insurance Carrier
Claims phone number
|American Family Insurance||1-800-692-6326|
|NJM Insurance Group||1-800-367-6564|
Also remember that you must take the following measures after a car accident:
If possible, you should also document everything that happened. Take photographs of the damages and your injuries and the surroundings, and write down everything you remember. This includes the weather, the state of the roads, and what the other drivers said. All these details may help your claim.
Finally, you must file a Nevada DMV Report of Traffic Accident Report (SR-1) within 10 days of the crash if:
But you do not need to make this DMV report if the police (or Nevada Highway Patrol) already made the report, and the report included your insurance and contact information.
Learn more about Nevada car accident lawsuits. Also see our article 10 Critical Steps to Take After a Nevada Car Accident.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
The amount of car insurance coverage that Nevada drivers are required to have is increasing substantially. Beginning next year on July 1, 2018, the minimum required auto liability coverage is increasing from $15,000 to $25,000 for the injury or death of one person. For the injury or death of two or more people, the minimum ...
The chances are pretty high that at some point you will be involved in a traffic accident in Los Angeles, California. There are some legal rules related to your rights and obligations at the scene of an accident. You should first ensure that no one is injured. If no one is injured, all parties (drivers) ...
If you have a California driver’s license, you should know all the rules of the road. But here are five California traffic laws that just might surprise you. There are different rules for drivers under 18. You may already know that California drivers may use the speakerphone function on their cellular telephone with a Bluetooth or ...
Nevada does not have a specific bus accident statute. But if an automobile collision occurs that involves a bus, the motorists involved are required to comply with Nevada Revised Statute chapter 484E. NRS 484E.010 through 483E.130 detail drivers’ duties following any motor vehicle accident. What should I do after a bus accident in Nevada? Following ...