What are class 2 misdemeanors in Colorado?
Colorado law subdivides misdemeanors into three tiers, from class 1 to class 3. Class 2 misdemeanors are the second least serious category of Colorado misdemeanors. Common examples of class 2 misdemeanors in Colorado include:
- The Colorado crime of criminal attempt to commit a class 1 misdemeanor
- The Colorado crime of false imprisonment (without force, threats, and detainment lasts less than 24 hours)
- The Colorado crime of second-degree arson (damage is less than $1,000)
- The Colorado crime of theft (value is at least $300 but less than $750)
- The Colorado crime of criminal mischief (damage amounts to at least $300 but less than $750)
- The Colorado crime of second-degree criminal tampering
- The Colorado crime of obtaining signatures by deception
- The Colorado crime of marrying a bigamist
- The Colorado crime of keeping a place of prostitution
- The Colorado crime of criminal invasion of privacy
- The Colorado crime of resisting arrest
What are class 2 misdemeanor penalties in Colorado?
The minimum penalty for class 2 misdemeanors is:
- 3 months in jail and/or $250 in fines
The maximum penalty for class 2 misdemeanors is:
- 12 months in jail and/or $1,000 in fines
Other class 2 misdemeanor facts in Colorado
People facing class 2 misdemeanor charges in Colorado have the constitutional right to a jury trial of six people. (With the court's approval, the defendant may elect to have a bench trial or a smaller jury of five, four, or three jurors.) Depending on the circumstances of the case, the defendant may be able to have the criminal case sealed from his/her record.
Even though class 2 misdemeanors are not considered as egregious as felonies, some of them are considered deportable offenses or crimes involving moral turpitude. Consequently, aliens convicted of certain class 2 misdemeanors may be vulnerable to deportation.
Arrested in Colorado? Call us . . . .
Our Denver Colorado Criminal Defense Attorneys are here to fight to get your charge dismissed or lessened, or, if necessary, to go to trial. Contact us at (303)222-0330 for a free consultation to talk about what we can do to help your case and safeguard your criminal record.
- Return to our Colorado misdemeanor main page