Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
Under CRS 18-9-104, engaging in a riot is a criminal offense in Colorado with possible misdemeanor or felony charges, depending on the types of actions alleged and whether a weapon was involved. Felony charges of engaging in a riot can result in 2 to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000.
In this article, our Denver Colorado criminal defense lawyers will address:
In Colorado, it is a criminal rioting offense for an individual to:
A “riot” is defined as a public disturbance involving a group of 3 or more people that creates a danger of injury, damage to property, or substantially obstructs the performance of any governmental function.1
What the police call a riot may be a group of individuals participating in a peaceful protest. Police may preemptively call a peaceful assemblage a “riot” where there is no real threat of danger to persons or property. Alternatively, a couple of individuals may take advantage of a protest to destroy property, causing the police to label all the peaceful protesters as rioters.
Inciting a riot (CRS 18-9-102) is urging a group of others to participate in a violent or dangerous public disturbance. CRS 18-9-102 states:
(1) A person commits inciting riot if he:(a) Incites or urges a group of five or more persons to engage in a current or impending riot; or(b) Gives commands, instructions, or signals to a group of five or more persons in furtherance of a riot.2
Even if the riot has not yet occurred and is only an impending riot, an individual can be charged with attempting to incite a riot, conspiracy with others to incite a riot or soliciting another person to incite a riot.
Under C.R.S. 18-9-102, inciting a riot is a class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties for misdemeanor inciting a riot include 6 to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. However, if anyone is injured or if the property is damaged as a result of inciting a riot, it may be charged as a class 5 felony. The penalties for felony inciting a riot include 1 to 3 years in prison, fines of up to $100,000, and a mandatory parole period of 2 years.3
Even if someone does not actively participate in a riot or does not incite others to riot, they can be charged with the crime of arming rioters if they supply weapons to rioters. CRS 18-9-103 states:
(1) A person commits arming rioters if he:(a) Knowingly supplies a deadly weapon or destructive device for use in a riot; or(b) Teaches another to prepare or use a deadly weapon or destructive device with intent that any such thing be used in a riot.3
Engaging in a riot is a class 2 misdemeanor, even if the defendant caused no property damage and no one was injured. Under CRS 18-9-104, the penalties for misdemeanor engaging in a riot include 3 to 12 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
If there was a threat of a deadly weapon used in the course of rioting, the defendant may be charged with a class 4 felony. Felony engaging in a riot includes the defendant using a deadly weapon, destructive device, or any object used in a way to cause a person to reasonably believe that the article is a deadly weapon. This also includes verbally representing that he or she is armed with a deadly weapon.4
The penalties for felony engaging in a riot include 2 to 6 years in prison, a fine of up to $500,000, and mandatory parole for 3 years.
Disobeying public safety orders under riot conditions is a class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties for disobedience of police orders include up to 6 months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
When a riot is taking place or impending, individuals are required to obey reasonable public safety orders to disperse. If the defendant knowingly disobeys a reasonable public safety order to move, disperse, or refrain from specified activities in the immediate vicinity of the riot, they may be charged with disobedience of public safety orders.
Under C.R.S. 18-9-105:
a public safety order is an order designed to prevent or control disorder or promote the safety of persons or property issued by an authorized member of the police, fire, military, or other forces concerned with the riot.5
News reporters and persons observing or recording the events on behalf of the press or news media may not have to follow the public order to disperse unless they are physically obstructing efforts by the police to cope with the riot.
Many innocent people are arrested for “rioting” during peaceful protests, or unfairly arrested when they had nothing to do with any destructive or violent behavior. Riots and protests can be confusing for police to monitor, and the police often arrest innocent people when they claim a riot is taking place. At the time of the arrest is not the time to fight unjust riot charges. You may have to wait until your day in court to get a chance to clear your name.
Individuals charged with rioting offenses have a number of possible legal defenses. Common defenses to rioting charges may include:
The peaceful Black Lives Matter (BLM) protests that took place in Colorado and throughout the United States in the aftermath of the George Floyd murder were perfectly legal. Peacefully demonstrating for police reforms or even defunding the police breaks no laws. On rare occasions, some protests turned into riots when participants vandalized, destroyed property, physically injured others, or obstructed the performance of the government.6
It is a petty offense in Colorado to loiter within 100 feet of a school when anyone under 18 is present or you have been asked to leave by school administrators. The penalties for loitering near a school include up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Protesting in a way that blocks an indoor or outdoor passageway such as a highway, street, sidewalk, hallway, or elevator is a class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties for obstructing a passageway include up to 6 months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
Protesting in a way that prevents or disrupts any lawful meeting, procession or gathering is a class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties for disrupting an assembly include up to 6 months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
If you have been arrested for rioting or accused of inciting a riot, please contact us at Colorado Legal Defense Group.
Hit and run is generally treated as a felony charge only if the accident caused an injury to another person. Leaving the scene of an accident that only causes property damage is usually treated as a misdemeanor. In some states, the amount of property damage can also turn a misdemeanor hit and run into a ...
In Colorado, a crime of violence carries longer potential prison sentences than non-violent offenses in the same felony category. Only a certain number of offenses are designated as crimes of violence, such as rape, aggravated robbery, and kidnapping. These crimes carry enhanced penalties only if the defendant used a deadly weapon, killed or seriously injured ...
It depends on the case. The judge may either just extend the period of probation or else convict the defendant and remand him or her to jail. Deferred sentencing in Colorado A deferred judgment and sentence in Colorado (CRS 18-1.3-102) is a legal mechanism where a defendant can avoid a criminal conviction and sentence as ...
The back-up of rate kit processing has been much in the news of late. But what exactly is a rape kit? A rape kit – more properly known as a sexual assault evidence kit (SAEK) or sexual assault kit (SAK)– is a container that includes materials and instructions for collecting possible DNA specimens during a ...