Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
18-4-513 of the Colorado Revised Statutes makes it a crime to use an offensive-smelling substance or irritant to interfere with another person’s use of the land, building, or vehicle is a criminal offense. The penalties for criminal use of a noxious substance include up to 6 months in prison and a fine of up to $750.
18-4-513 CRS states that “(1) Any person who deposits on the land or in the building or vehicle of another, without his consent, any stink bomb or device, irritant, or offensive-smelling substance with the intent to interfere with another’s use or enjoyment of the land, building, or vehicle commits a class 3 misdemeanor. (2) It shall be an affirmative defense that a peace officer in the performance of his duties reasonably used a noxious substance.”
In this article, our Colorado criminal defense lawyers will address:
Under Colorado law, the criminal use of a noxious substance involves “any person who deposits on the land or in the building or vehicle of another, without his consent, any stink bomb or device, irritant, or offensive-smelling substance with the intent to interfere with another’s use or enjoyment of the land, building, or vehicle.”1
A noxious substance may include a substance that puts off an offensive odor or causes a harmful or annoying reaction. Among the most common noxious substances in Colorado are stink bombs. Stink bombs can be purchased in novelty stores or online. Stink bombs are intended to create an offensive or unpleasant smell.
Prank stink bombs generally come in a small glass vial. When the glass vial is broken, the chemicals are released into the air, causing an offensive reaction. This may include a number of chemical compounds, which are generally harmless in small amounts. Chemical ingredients may include ammonium sulfide, which is reminiscent of the smell of rotten eggs. Other noxious stink bombs may be related to the chemical compounds found in skunk spray.
Law enforcement may also use stink bombs or other noxious substances as a form of riot control or crowd control. During a riot, the police may deploy stink bombs to disperse a crowd. Stink bombs can be very offensive without the more harmful effects of pepper spray or tear gas. Stink bombs for use as riot control may be much more potent and offensive than novelty stink bombs.
Individuals may release a noxious substance, such as a stink bomb, as an intended prank or joke. For example, a college school student may throw a stink bomb during a class as a joke. Students playing a prank may not intend to commit a crime; however, using a stink bomb would likely interfere with other students’ use of the school auditorium, which could be charged as a criminal offense.
Others may use a noxious substance, including stink bombs or stink sprays, during a protest, or against protesters. Spraying a noxious substance on another person or using a stink bomb during a protest may be intended to interfere with the use or enjoyment of land, property, a building, or vehicle, which is a criminal offense.
Alternatively, law enforcement officers may utilize stink bombs or other noxious substances as a way to disperse a riot. It is an affirmative defense to the criminal use of a noxious substance when a peace officer in the performance of his duties reasonably used a noxious substance.2
The criminal use of a noxious substance is class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties for a class 3 misdemeanor conviction for the criminal use of a noxious substance include up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $750.3
However, a defendant may face additional charges if anyone is injured or harmed as a result of releasing a harmful noxious substance.
A person commits criminal mischief in Colorado when he or she knowingly damages the real or personal property of one or more other persons. The penalties for a criminal mischief conviction depend on the value of property damaged. Criminal mischief of property valued at less than $1,000 is a felony, but if the property damage has a value of $1,000 or more, it is a felony.
In Colorado, you commit criminal trespass when you unlawfully enter or remain on someone else’s property. Trespass can be in the first, second or third degree, with penalties depending on the type of property involved, and the reason for entering or remaining on the property.
Destroying, defacing, removing, or damaging any historical monuments, public property, private property, or caves is a criminal offense in Colorado. Defacing property is a class 2 misdemeanor, which carries the maximum penalties of up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
If you have been accused of the criminal use of a noxious substance, please contact the Denver criminal lawyers at Colorado Legal Defense Group.
Colorado courts can find a person to be in contempt of court for deliberately disobeying or disrespecting the court. Civil contempt is imposed when a person intentionally defies a court order. Criminal contempt is typically imposed when a person disrupts judicial proceedings. Depending on the facts and types of contempt, penalties may include fines and ...
Colorado law defines deadly weapon as a gun, knife, or any other object capable of killing or inflicting substantial bodily harm. Deadly weapons include ordinary articles such as pipes, bricks, or ropes that are used to injure or kill. Many crimes such as assault and robbery carry harsher penalties if the defendant had a deadly ...
There is a waiting period to seal certain types of felony convictions under Colorado law, and some of the more serious felonies may not be sealed at all. But if the felony charge gets dismissed, then it can be sealed right away. The following table summarizes the waiting period for sealing Colorado criminal records for ...
Yes, unless the police show up. If the police arrive, then they will file an accident report with the Colorado DMV. But if no police come, then the drivers must file an accident report as soon as possible. People may file accident reports online as long as the following are true: Nobody died from the ...