Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
The penalty for criminal conspiracy in Colorado depends on the punishment for the crime you are conspiring to commit.
The important thing to know is that you can be punished for violating Colorado’s conspiracy laws even if you never commit or attempt to commit the planned crime.
And if you do commit it or attempt it, you can be charged with BOTH conspiracy AND the crime (or attempted crime) you and your co-conspirators plotted. And their testimony can be used against you.
This makes it imperative to retain an experienced Colorado conspiracy lawyer as soon as you are arrested on conspiracy charges.
Our Denver, Colorado criminal defense lawyers have the experience you need to present the best defense to Colorado conspiracy charges. We offer free consultations and easy payment plans.
To help you better understand the consequences of a Colorado conspiracy conviction, we set forth, below, the classes of punishment for Colorado conspiracy charges as follows:
Conspiracy to commit a Colorado felony is always a felony. A felony is a serious crime that can be punished by a prison sentence of 1 year or more and/or a fine, usually of not less than $1,000.
Under 18-2-206 (1) C.R.S.:
Exception: If a person conspires to commit a felony which is defined by any statute other than one contained in Title 18 (Colorado’s Criminal Code) and for which conspiracy no penalty is specifically provided, he or she is guilty of a class 6 felony.1
To see the presumptive range of prison sentences and fines applicable to each class of felony, please see our article on Colorado Felony Sentencing.
Except as otherwise provided by a specific law:
Conspiracy to commit a Colorado drug felony can be punished by as little as 6 months or as much as 8 years in prison. Our article on Colorado Felony Sentencing sets for the presumptive prison sentences and fines for Colorado drug felonies.
Misdemeanors and petty offenses are less serious criminal offenses that can be punished by a fine and/or time in Colorado jail.
To learn more about the punishments for these crimes, please see our article on Colorado misdemeanor sentencing.
Except as otherwise provided by law, conspiracy to commit a drug misdemeanor, regardless of class, is a level 2 drug misdemeanor.6 Starting March 1, 2020, the punishment is:
But for a 3rd or subsequent offense, up to 180 days in jail.
Certain offenses are designated by law as Colorado “crimes of violence.” These are crimes that involve the use of a deadly weapon, result in serious bodily injury or death, or are committed against an “at-risk” defendant (such as someone with a disability).
18-2-201 (4.5) C.R.S. provides:
Conspiracy to commit any crime for which a court is required to sentence a defendant for a crime of violence in accordance with section 18-1.3-406 is itself a crime of violence for the purposes of that section.
Committing or conspiring to commit a crime of violence will subject you to an enhanced prison sentence and mandatory prison time.
To learn more about sentences for violent crimes, please see our article on Colorado “crimes of violence,” 18-1.3-406 C.R.S.
If you or someone you know has been charged under Colorado’s conspiracy laws, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation.
Our caring Denver criminal defense attorneys understand that there are at least two sides to every story. Our job is to present yours so as to give you the best defense to your Colorado conspiracy charges.
To schedule your free consultation, fill out the form on this page, or call us at:
Colorado Legal Defense Group
4047 Tejon Street
Denver, CO 80211
An indeterminate sentencing structure is one where a sentence for a criminal offense is given as a range. For example, a defendant could be sentenced to “15 years to life in prison.” With an indeterminate sentence, a minimum prison term is always given but a release date is left open. The specific date of release ...
It depends on whether the driver simply forgot to carry the license, never had one, or had the wrong one: Driving without a License (42-2-101 C.R.S.) Colorado Penalties The driver has a current and valid license but forgot to bring it Class B traffic infraction: $15 – $100 in fines A subsequent conviction puts six DMV ...