Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
In Colorado, a second weapons offense within a 5-year period may result in felony criminal charges. Possession of a defaced firearm, unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon, and the prohibited use of a weapon are generally misdemeanor crimes. However, under CRS 18-12-107, a second offense within 5 years is a class 5 felony. Penalties include up to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. In this article, our Colorado criminal defense lawyers will address:
Any person who has a second or subsequent weapons offense under the following statutes has committed a second weapons offense:
A first offense of these weapons offenses is generally treated as a misdemeanor. However, a second of these weapons offenses within 5 years of a previous conviction is a class 5 felony.1
Possession of a defaced firearm, carrying a concealed weapon, or the prohibited use of a weapon are prior offenses that qualify for a second weapons offense. In general, prior criminal offenses may qualify as aggravating factors that increase sentencing for other crimes. However, only these three specific offenses qualify as a second weapons offense under CRS 18-12-107.
The knowing and unlawful possession of a firearm with the serial number removed, defaced, altered, or destroyed is a class 1 misdemeanor.
The knowing and unlawful carrying of a concealed weapon is a class 2 misdemeanor. This includes carrying a concealed firearm or knife on or about your person. Unlawfully carrying a firearm, explosive, or dangerous device into any meeting of the general assembly of Colorado is also considered a concealed weapons violation.
The prohibited use of a weapon is a class 2 misdemeanor. This includes:
A first-time offense of these weapons charges is a class 1 or 2 misdemeanor. The penalties for a second or subsequent offense depend on the amount of time between the prior conviction and the second offense. If the second or subsequent offense was committed within 5 years of the prior conviction, the subsequent offense is a class 5 felony.
A second weapons offense within 5 years is punishable by 1 to 3 years in prison, and a fine of between $1,000 and $100,000. There may also be a mandatory parole period after release.
Felony offenses may also result in long-term penalties. This includes possible voting restrictions and disqualification from serving on a jury or holding public office. It may also be much more difficult for a felon to find a job in the future.
There are a number of possible defenses to weapons charges, depending of the facts of the case. These include:
The penalties for a second weapons offense are related to the prior weapons offenses. A prior weapons offense within 5 years may result in felony charges for the second or subsequent offense.
Most firearms have a serial number for the purpose of identification, verification, or tracking sales. To knowingly be in possession of a firearm with an altered, defaced, or destroyed serial number is a class 1 misdemeanor. Penalties include 6 to 18 months in jail, and a fine of up to $5,000.2
Unlawfully carrying a concealed gun or hidden knife is a class 2 misdemeanor. This may not apply to police officers, individuals with a valid concealed weapon’s permit, or individuals lawfully concealing a weapon on their own property. Penalties for unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon include 3 to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.3
Aiming a gun at another person, recklessly firing a gun, possession of a gun while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or the use of booby traps, throwing stars, or nunchucks are all considered prohibited weapons uses. The prohibited use of these weapons is a class 2 misdemeanor. Penalties for unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon include 3 to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.4
If you were arrested for violating a Colorado gun law or have a prior weapons conviction, please contact us at Colorado Legal Defense Group. Our Colorado defense attorneys have many years of experience representing clients who have been charged with gun crimes and other weapons offenses. We are among the best Colorado criminal defense attorneys to call. Contact us today for a free consultation by phone or in-person or in our Denver law office.
Am I allowed to leave my pet in a car in Nevada? 5 things to knowWatch this video on YouTube The animal cruelty law Nevada Revised Statute 202.487 makes it a misdemeanor to “allow a pet to remain unattended in a parked or standing motor vehicle if conditions, including, without limitation, extreme heat or cold, ...
Colorado DWAI convictions remain on the defendant’s criminal record forever. There is no way to seal or expunge DWAI (or DUI) convictions of people prosecuted in Colorado criminal court. The only exceptions involve convictions of the Colorado crime of underage drinking and driving (UDD) and juvenile court cases. Record expungements for “Underage Drinking and Driving” ...
No. Under Colorado Revised Statutes 18-12-108 C.R.S., convicted felons in Colorado are prohibited from knowingly possessing firearms or weapons. This law is abbreviated POWPO in Colorado for possession of a weapon by a previous offender. Pellet guns Pellet guns are a type of air gun. Air guns launch projectiles pneumatically using compressed air (or other ...
Colorado Drug Test Laws - 3 things to knowWatch this video on YouTube Colorado law permits employers to test employees for drugs – whether by random drug screening tests or a scheduled testing program. Employers may also drug test prospective workers during pre-employment drug testing, even after making an offer of employment. Employers can then fire ...