People seeking to renew their CCW permit for carrying concealed weapons in Colorado (CRS 18-12-105) must submit a renewal application to the sheriff’s office in the county where they currently either:
- own property, or
- own a business.
CCW permits issued in Colorado are good for five years unless they are prematurely revoked. Sheriffs may choose not to renew an application if they believe the applicant no longer meets the criteria for carrying a concealed weapon in Colorado (C.R.S. 18-12-203).
Every county sheriff has its own procedures, deadlines, fees, and renewal paperwork (though most counties share the same common application). People should contact their local sheriff for instructions.
1. What are Denver procedures for renewing a concealed handgun permit?
C.C.W. cardholders may submit a renewal application to the Denver Police Department within 120 days of the permit expiring. The Denver police department processes renewals on a walk-in basis on Tuesdays through Fridays from 8:00 AM to 2:30 PM at the following location:
Denver Police Department Administration Building
1331 Cherokee Street
Denver, Colorado 80204
The phone number is (720) 913-6836. The building is closed on holidays.
Renewal applicants must bring the following materials:
- proof of residency in Denver county (such as a mortgage statement or lease agreement);
- a completed permit application but not yet signed (signatures must be done in an officer’s presence at the station);
- a completed supplemental application if the applicant is not a U.S. citizen;
- a Xerox of the applicant’s Colorado driver’s license (or Colorado or military I.D.);
- a notarized affidavit; and
- a cashier check or money order for $63 made payable to the Denver Police Department.1
2. How do I start the process in my county?
Most of the Colorado counties allow you to begin the process online. Please find the links below in alphabetical order:
- Clear Creek
- Denver (scroll up to the previous section for more information)
- El Paso
- Kit Carson
- La Plata
- Las Animas
- Rio Blanco
- Rio Grande
- San Juan
- San Miguel
3. What are the penalties for carrying a concealed weapon without a valid permit?
A first-time violation of carrying a concealed firearm in Colorado is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to a 364 days in jail.
A second or subsequent offense within five years of a prior offense is a class 5 felony. The punishment includes:
- 1 to 3 years in state prison (with two years mandatory parole), and/or
- a fine of $1,000 to $100,000.2
If someone has a valid and current C.C.W. permit but simply forgets to carry it along with the concealed weapon, then he/she can be charged with a petty offense. This carries:
- up to 10 days in jail, and/or
- a fine of up to $300.3
4. Are there defenses if I get charged with a crime?
People accused of carrying a concealed weapon without a valid permit can challenge the accusation with a legal defense. A few common defenses often include (but are not limited to):
- the defendant was on his/her own property at the time of the alleged offense, and the weapon was used to defend a home, person, or property,4
- You were in a private motor vehicle and needed the weapon for the protection of property in the vehicle while traveling;
- You were a valid concealed carry permit holder at the time of the alleged offense and were following the rules;
- Learn more at the official Denver Police Department C.C.W. website.
- CRS 18-12-105. CRS 18-12-107. Prior March 1, 2022, carrying a concealed weapon was a Colorado class 2 misdemeanor that could be punished by a fine of $250 to $1,000 and/or 3 to 12 months in jail. SB21-271.
- CRS 18-12-204. Prior to March 1, 2022, forgetting to carry a permit was a class 1 petty offense carrying up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. SB21-271.
- See People v. Ford (1977) 568 P.2d 26.