Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
No. A 3rd-time DUI in Colorado causing no serious bodily injury is a misdemeanor carrying 60 days to 1 year of county jail time, $600 to $1,500 in fines plus court costs, a 2-year driver’s license revocation, and 48 to 120 hours of public service. The two prior convictions can be from any state, not just Colorado. And it does not matter how long ago the two prior cases occurred.
DWAI stands for “driving while ability impaired.” DWAI charges typically apply to drivers with a BAC of more than .05% to less than .08%. In contrast, DUI charges typically apply to drivers with a BAC of .08% or higher.5
How can I fight the charges?
Ten potential defenses that DUI attorneys use to fight DUI-third charges include the following:
You did not have two prior DUI convictions.
The police lacked reasonable suspicion to make the initial traffic stop of the motor vehicle.
If the criminal defense law firm can raise a reasonable doubt as to your guilt, the D.A. may be willing to drop the Colorado DUI case or reduce it to a lesser offense. Typical evidence that criminal defense attorneys rely on include eyewitness testimony, surveillance video, dashcam video, and the police report itself.
Arrested for drunk driving in Colorado? Call our DUI defense lawyers for legal advice. Our DUI lawyers serve clients in Denver, Colorado Springs, and throughout the state.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
DUR is short for the Colorado crime of driving under restraint. A person is DUR when he/she drives while his/her license has been suspended, revoked, or denied. It does not matter whether the driver is a Colorado resident. 1. What are the penalties in Colorado for DUR? Per CRS 42-2-138, the penalties for driving under ...
Uber generally disqualifies you from becoming a driver if you have a DUI conviction that is dated within the past several years from your application. A DUI conviction includes convictions for both drunk driving and driving under the influence of drugs (DUID). Note that certain other criminal convictions will prevent a person from being an ...
ARS 28-1383 makes a fourth-time DUI in a 7-year period in Arizona an aggravated DUI, which is a class 4 felony. Penalties include a mandatory minimum of an 8-month prison sentence, $4,000 in fines, and a 1-year driver’s license suspension. In addition, the defendant must take traffic survival school as well as an alcohol and ...
A misdemeanor charge of driving under the influence (DUI) in California must be commenced within one year of the date it occurred. A felony DUI charge must be commenced within three years of the date it occurred. Commenced for criminal statute of limitations purposes means when one of the following events takes place: an indictment ...