Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
What is the juvenile arraignment process in Denver?
3 things to know about the juvenile arraignment process in Denver
The juvenile arraignment process in Denver is where minors get officially charged with a crime in Denver Juvenile Court. It is substantially different from the arraignment process for adults. Many juvenile cases do not go through the arraignment process. These cases get resolved informally, instead.
What is arraignment?
An arraignment is a court hearing. It is where the judge tells a suspect that he or she is being charged with a crime. It turns someone from a criminal suspect into a criminal defendant.
In Colorado, the arraignment is usually your first court appearance. It is the culmination of the investigation process. The steps in this process are:
In this way, arraignment signals a shift in the criminal justice process. Before arraignment, you deal with the police, whose job is to gather evidence. After arraignment, you deal with prosecutors, whose job it is to present that evidence.
How is arraignment different in the juvenile system?
The juvenile system is for defendants between 10 and 18 years old. In the juvenile system, arraignment is different in several ways:
It is not a necessary step, as many juvenile cases are resolved without an arraignment,
The young suspect can be released back to their parents, beforehand, and
The juvenile court has to determine whether to transfer the case to adult court, or exercise its jurisdiction over the case.
Similarly to the criminal justice system, though, juvenile arraignment has to happen soon after an arrest. In Denver, it often happens without 48 hours.
What happens at a juvenile arraignment?
The juvenile court judge has to decide whether to send the case to adult court. This would require them to relinquish their jurisdiction over the case. This decision revolves on numerous factors, including:
Whether the district attorney and the defense lawyer agree that a transfer is in the child’s interests.
This decision is made at a later hearing, called a fitness hearing.
Otherwise, the judge may schedule a status hearing to give both sides time to negotiate a plea bargain. If that does not work, a trial – known as an adjudication – will occur.
Throughout this process, the juvenile defendant is represented by a lawyer or a guardian ad litem. These people can represent a juvenile and speak for the child’s interests.
Many juvenile cases are resolved informally without going through arraignment
Many juvenile cases do not go through arraignment. Instead, they are resolved before the arraignment process begins.
After a juvenile is detained, they are temporarily held while their legal guardian is notified. The local intake screener decides whether to put the juvenile in temporary custody or release them to their parents or guardian. Suspects are often released to their parents. They are often only held in custody for their own safety and welfare.
If the juvenile was arrested for a felony offense, though, law enforcement can demand they be held in custody and not released.
If the juvenile is released to their parents, the intake screener can put restrictions on their release. In some cases, the only restriction is a written promise to appear in court at their detention hearing. In other cases, the restrictions are stricter. This release can end the juvenile process.
In cases where a detention hearing is set, the hearing has to happen within 48 hours if the juvenile is in temporary custody. In many cases, the district attorney will ask to informally resolve the issue. Informal resolutions typically include:
Juvenile defendants who have had a case informally resolved in the past year are unlikely to be eligible for this process.
About the Author
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
Nevada is a “stand-your-ground“ state in terms of self-defense law. This means you can use force to defend yourself or others (without a duty to retreat) so long as you did not start the fight, you have a reasonable belief that your life is in immediate jeopardy, you have a right to be in the ...
Whether it is a fake Rolex watch, a pirated CD or DVD, or any other imitation or unauthorized product, selling counterfeit goods in San Francisco is a violation of California law and can get you arrested and charged with a crime. California Penal Code Section 350 prohibits the manufacturing, sale, or possession for sale of ...
Nevada’s Victims of Crime Program (VOCP) provides financial support for eligible crime victims and their families. What expenses does the VOCP pay for? Each case is different. Depending on the circumstances, VOCP may help pay expenses for: Childcare costs that the crime caused Medical bills (hospitals, ambulance, clinical visits, home health care, dental work, etc.) ...
Nevada State Prison as a possible punishment. But five other, lesser-known Nevada offenses also carry potential life in prison, including: Attempt murder by poison Sexual abuse of a child under 14 causing substantial bodily or mental harm Involuntary servitude of minors Child pornography Battery with intent to commit sexual assault 1. Attempted murder by poison ...