California Penal Code 267 PC is the state law prohibiting abducting children under 18 for the purpose of prostitution. Violating PC 267 is a felony carrying up to three years in state prison, up to $2,000 in fines, and lifetime registration as a sex offender.
The complete text of the code section reads as follows:
267. Every person who takes away any other person under the age of 18 years from the father, mother, guardian, or other person having the legal charge of the other person, without their consent, for the purpose of prostitution, is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison, and a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000).
California Penal Code 267 PC makes it a serious criminal offense to:
- abduct a minor under 18 years old away from their parent or anyone who is legally in charge of the minor
- without the guardian’s consent
- to prostitute the minor.
Abducting a minor for prostitution is a felony punishable by a California State Prison sentence of:
- 16 months,
- 2 years, or
- 3 years.
The judge can also impose a fine of up to $2,000.1 In addition, the defendant would be required to register for life as a Tier III sex offender in California.2
See our related article, enticing a child into prostitution (PC 266).
- California Penal Code 267 PC – Abduction of minor for prostitution. See, for example: People v. Steele (Cal. App. 3d Dist., 2014), 225 Cal. App. 4th 300, 169 Cal. Rptr. 3d 723.
- PC 290.