DUI arrests don't always lead to convictions in court. Police officer mistakes, faulty breathalyzers and crime lab errors may get your charges reduced or dismissed. Visit our California DUI page to learn more.
What Are the Penalties for a Sacramento County Rape Conviction?
If you are charged with and convicted of rape in Sacramento County, you could be looking at a lifetime of serious consequences that go far beyond just prison time.
Rape, as one would expect, is treated as one of the most serious crimes under California law and crimes involving rape and sexual assault are vigorously prosecuted. The penalties for a Sacramento County rape conviction reflect that.
California has a number of laws that address specific instances of rape, such as spousal rape, date rape, and statutory rape each with their own penalties. California’s main rape law is California Penal Code 261 PC.
Section 261, which classifies rape as a felony, establishes a range of punishments, some or all of which can be imposed depending on the facts and circumstances of the case.
A conviction on Sacramento County rape charges can result in a sentence of three, six, or eight years in California State Prison. Which term you will be sentenced to will largely hinge on any aggravating or mitigating factors that a jury may take into consideration. However, the consequences can be even greater under certain circumstances:
Great bodily injury. If the alleged victim suffered great bodily injury during and as a result of the rape, an additional three to five years can be added to the prison term.
Rape of a minor under 18. If the alleged victim is a minor under age 18, the possible state prison term goes up to seven, nine, or 11 years.
Rape of a minor under 14. The possible prison sentence can be nine, 11, or 13 years in state prison for rape of a minor under the age of 14.
Sex Offender Registry
You will almost certainly have to register as a California sex offender under Penal Code Section 290 if you are convicted of rape in Sacramento County. Sex offender registration is a burden that will have serious negative consequences long after you have served any time behind bars, restricting where and how you live among other limitations and obligations. Failing to comply with your registration requirements is itself a crime that can send you back to prison.
In addition to the foregoing, you may also be subject to a fine of up to $10,000 as well as strict conditions on parole. Given the catastrophic consequences of a Sacramento County rape conviction, it is of the utmost importance that you contact an experienced Sacramento County criminal defense lawyer if you have been charged with rape. Call us today so we can evaluate your case, advise you of your options, and protect your rights.
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Colorado has a Romeo and Juliet law (also called “the close-in-age exemption” to statutory rape). Under this exception: minors under 15 may have consensual sex with partners who are less than four years older, and minors age 15 or 16 may have consensual sex with partners who are less than 10 years older. Otherwise, people ...
Las Vegas Defense Group scores a major victory with the Nevada Supreme Court. Today the Nevada Supreme Court published an opinion reversing our client’s two convictions for the Nevada crime of rape. The justices held that the lower court committed a “structural error,” effectively voiding the guilty verdicts. So as it stands now, it is ...
Under Colorado law, prosecutors generally have 20 years to bring sexual assault (CRS 18-3-402) charges after an alleged rape. If the victim was age 15, 16, or 17 at the time of the offense, this 20-year statute of limitation does not begin running until the victim turns 18. However, Colorado prosecutors can bring rape charges ...
A bill recently introduced in the California legislature would abolish the statute of limitations for rape and a host of other sex crimes. If passed, the law would mean that prosecutors could pursue sexual assault and other charges decades after the acts were allegedly committed. The bill, SB 813, was written by state Senator Connie ...