DUI arrests don't always lead to convictions in court. Police officer mistakes, faulty breathalyzers and crime lab errors may get your charges reduced or dismissed. Visit our California DUI page to learn more.
What Are the Penalties for Selling Counterfeit Goods in San Diego County?
Whether it is a fake Rolex watch, a pirated CD or DVD, or any other imitation or unauthorized product, selling counterfeit goods in San Diego County is a violation of California law and can get you arrested and charged with a crime.
California Penal Code Section 350 prohibits the manufacturing, sale, or possession for sale of counterfeit “marks,” which are marks that are:
“identical with, or confusingly similar to,” a mark registered with the California Secretary of State or U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and
“is used, or intended to be used, on or in connection with the same type of goods or services for which the genuine mark is registered.”
A counterfeit mark on a product could include not only a name like “Gucci” or “Dolce & Gabbana,” but also symbols like the Nike “swoosh” or distinctive designs and shapes. Additionally, the mark doesn’t need to be displayed on the outside of the product to be a violation of the law.
The penalties upon conviction for a violation Section 350 are largely dependent on the quantity and fair market value of the legitimate goods or articles at issue.
Less than 1,000 articles:
If the accused is an individual and if the total retail or fair market value is less than that required for grand theft as defined in Section 487 ($950 or less), the punishment can be a fine of up to $10,000 and/or up to a year in San Diego County jail.
If the accused is a business entity, it can be fined up to $200,000. (Penal Code Sec. 350(a)(1))
1,000 articles or more:
If the accused is an individual and if the total retail or fair market value is equal to or greater than that required for grand theft as defined in Section 487 (more than $950), the punishment can be a fine of up to $500,000 and/or up to a year or 16 months, or two or three years in San Diego County jail.
If the accused is a business entity, it can be fined up to $1,000,000. (Penal Code Sec. 350(a)(2))
The penalties are greater for subsequent offenses.
Additionally, if the counterfeit product “directly and foreseeably caused death or great bodily injury to another through reliance on the counterfeited item for its intended purpose” an accused individual shall be punished by a fine of up to $100,000 and/or by imprisonment for two, three, or four years. (Penal Code Sec. 350(c)).
On top of the fines and jail time, a conviction for selling or manufacturing counterfeit goods in San Diego County can also result in the forfeiture and destruction of the goods, forfeiture of any proceeds from the sale of the goods, and the payment of restitution to the company whose goods were copied. (Penal Code Sec. 350(d)(1), (d)(3), and (i)).
If you have been arrested and charged with selling counterfeit goods in San Diego County, you are at risk of losing your freedom as well as large sums of money. Call our experienced San Diego County criminal defense lawyers today to discuss your case.
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
People required to register as a sex offender typically must do so within a short amount of time following their sentencing or release from custody. Jurisdictions have different definitions for a short amount of time, but it is most often this is within three to five days. Most jurisdictions also require offenders to re-register (or ...
What Happens if You Get a Probation Violation in a DUI Case? If people violate a term of their probation in a DUI case, a probation officer or police officer can take them into custody pending a probation violation hearing. At the hearing, the judge has the discretion to reinstate the probation, modify the probation ...
There is big money to be made in scrap metal. While selling scrap metal found on the street or in alleys or garbage in Reno may be a good source of cash, stealing scrap metal from homes, businesses, or public property can be a good source of Nevada criminal charges. Stealing, taking, and carrying away ...
California misdemeanor offenses are punishable by custody in county jail for a maximum term of between six months and 364 days, depending on whether the crime is a standard misdemeanor or an aggravated misdemeanor. These offenses can also result in the imposition of fines and/or misdemeanor (or summary) probation (with conditions such as restitution, community ...