DUI arrests don't always lead to convictions in court. Police officer mistakes, faulty breathalyzers and crime lab errors may get your charges reduced or dismissed. Visit our California DUI page to learn more.
What are the Penalties for Crimes Against the Disabled in San Francisco?
If you commit a crime against a person with a disability in San Francisco, be prepared for harsh consequences if you’re convicted.
Adults with physical or mental disabilities can be particularly vulnerable to crime. Because of this, California law provides specific protections for the disabled (referred to in the law as “dependent adults”) and more severe penalties for those who commit crimes against them.
As the California legislature put in Penal Code Section 368(a):
“…crimes against elders and dependent adults are deserving of special consideration and protection, not unlike the special protections provided for minor children, because elders and dependent adults may be confused, on various medications, mentally or physically impaired, or incompetent, and therefore less able to protect themselves, to understand or report criminal conduct, or to testify in court proceedings on their own behalf.”
Physical or Emotional Abuse
The physical or emotional abuse of individuals with a disability can be prosecuted either as a felony or a misdemeanor depending on the nature of the abuse and the seriousness of the harm done. Penal Code Sections 368(b) and 368(c).
To be convicted of a felony for physically or emotionally abusing a “dependent adult,” prosecutors must prove that:
you willfully or with criminal negligence either (a) personally subjected a dependent adult to unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering or (b) allowed another person to do so,
your conduct occurred under circumstances that were likely to produce great bodily injury or death, and
you knew or reasonably should have known that the alleged victim is a dependent adult.
The distinction between felony and misdemeanor charges is in that second element. If the alleged conduct was likely to endanger the health of the alleged victim, rather than likely to result in great bodily injury or death, it can be prosecuted as a California misdemeanor.
If you are convicted of a felony pursuant to Section 368(b), the consequences can be severe, especially if the disabled victim suffered “great bodily injury under California law” or death or was over 70 years old. The penalty for a felony elder conviction of abuse against a disabled person are:
imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year, or
a fine of up to $6,000, or
by both that fine and imprisonment, or by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years.
If the abuse resulted in “great bodily injury,” the penalties set forth above are supplemented by additional time in a state prison. Specifically,
an additional three years if the victim is under 70 years of age.
an additional five years if the victim is 70 years of age or older.
If the abuse resulted in the individual’s death,
an additional five years if the victim is under 70 years of age.
an additional seven years if the victim is 70 years of age or older.
The penalties for a misdemeanor conviction under Section 368 are:
informal probation (otherwise known as summary probation),
up to one year in a county jail,
a fine of up to $6,000 (or $10,000 for a second or subsequent offense),
Charges of abuse of the disabled are not exclusive. If you commit an offense against a disabled person in San Francisco, you can be charged under Section 368 along with other applicable criminal offenses such as murder, rape, battery, or domestic violence which carry their own penalties.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Every state in the U.S. treats the crime of kidnapping as a felony offense (as opposed to a misdemeanor). Many states have different degrees of felonies so the specific penalties for this offense will slightly vary among jurisdictions. However, most states say that the offense is punishable by minimum state prison sentences of up to five ...
There is big money to be made in scrap metal. While selling scrap metal found on the street or in alleys or garbage in Reno may be a good source of cash, stealing scrap metal from homes, businesses, or public property can be a good source of Nevada criminal charges. Stealing, taking, and carrying away ...
If you are on probation after serving time behind bars in San Bernardino County, the last thing you want is to go back to jail. Even if you never served time, you certainly don’t want to do anything that would further limit your rights, extend the length of your probation, or result in your incarceration. ...
The answer to this question depends on what you mean by “driving without a license.” First, let’s say you actually have a valid driver’s license–but you forget it at home and end up getting stopped by a CHP or other law enforcement officer. This actually is a crime – California Vehicle Code 12951 VC failure to ...