Every crime in California is defined by a specific code section. Our attorneys explain the law, penalties and best defense strategies for every major crime in California.
DUI » What Happens After an Arrest in San Bernardino County?
Knowing what to expect after an arrest in San Bernardino County can help make the criminal legal process a little easier. Here is what happens after you have been arrested.
Once you have been arrested, you will be taken to the police station to be fingerprinted and photographed. You have a right to remain silent, but you will be required to give your name, address, date of birth, height, weight eye color. Most arrestees are taken to the West Valley Detention Center for booking, processing and holding.
After that, one of three things will happen:
The arraignment will be your first California court appearance where you will be made aware of the criminal charges against you. You may then enter your plea of:
In California misdemeanor cases, if you are in custody at the time of the arraignment, your trial must start within 30 days of arraignment or plea, whichever is later. If you are not custody at the time of the arraignment, your trial must start within 45 days of arraignment or plea, whichever is later.
In a felony case, your trial must start within 60 days of your arraignment. There may be circumstances where your defense attorney may recommend a court trial without a jury. However, you have a right to have a jury of your peers decide your guilt or innocence. The prosecutor has the responsibility to prove your guilt to the jury beyond a reasonable doubt.
If you are found not guilty by the jury, you will be released, never to be tried again for the same offense. The arrest will still show on your record, in addition to the acquittal. If you are found guilty, you will then be sentenced. You do have the right to appeal the verdict.
For more information related to the rules in criminal cases, read the California Rules of Court, Title 4. If you have been arrested in the San Bernardino California area and need legal counsel, contact us.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Obviously, suffering a California drunk driving conviction is never a good thing. You face substantial fines, participation in alcohol and/or drug education classes, car insurance repercussions, and…depending on the severity of the offense…sometimes even a jail or prison sentence. But perhaps one of the harshest penalties is the possibility of losing…or never obtaining…a professional license. ...
A misdemeanor charge of driving under the influence (DUI) in California must be commenced within one year of the date it occurred. A felony DUI charge must be commenced within three years of the date it occurred. Commenced for statute of limitations purposes means when one of the following events takes place: an indictment or ...
Many states, including Nevada, use DUI checkpoints as one method of cracking down on drunk drivers. Also referred to as sobriety checkpoints, DUI checkpoints are locations where police station legal roadblocks where officers stop and check drivers for signs of impairment indicating intoxication. DUI checkpoints in the United States are only legal if they are ...
The Ambien defense is a legal defense to charges of driving under the influence of drugs (DUID). The defense is largely based on the fact that some prescription drugs and sleeping medications (such as Ambien) can put a person in a trance similar to sleepwalking. When this happens and a person is driving it is ...