Blog

Will I go to jail for selling pot in Nevada?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Oct 14, 2014 | 0 Comments

If it is your first offense, maybe not...

Selling marijuana in Nevada is a category B felony, and the penalties grow harsher with each successive conviction. For a first-time offense of selling pot, the judge has the discretion to grant probation and suspend any jail sentence. Otherwise, the judge can impose:

  • 1 - 6 years in Nevada State Prison; and
  • maybe up to $20,000 in fines

Meanwhile, a second-time offense of selling weed in Nevada carries a mandatory punishment of:

  • 2 - 10 years in Nevada State Prison; and
  • maybe up to $20,000 in fines

Finally, a third or successive offense of selling marijuana in Nevada carries a mandatory penalty of:

  • 3 - 15 years in Nevada State Prison; and
  • maybe up to $20,000 in fines

Note that the judge may double these penalties if the drug sale occurred in any of the following locations:

  • within 1,000 feet of a public park, playground, school, public swimming pool, arcade or youth recreational center
  • within 1,000 feet of a school bus stop from one hour prior to school beginning to one hour after it ends
  • on the campus of the Nevada System of Higher Education

Also note that selling marijuana to a minor is charged as a category A felony in Nevada. A second offense carries:

  • 15 years - life in Nevada State Prison with the possibility of parole after 5 years; and
  • maybe up to $20,000 in fines; and
  • restitution for rehabilitating the minor

Read more information on the Nevada crime of selling marijuana.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California and Nevada. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370