Will I go to jail for having a joint in Nevada?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Apr 06, 2015 | 0 Comments

Not for a first-time or second-time offense as long as the joint amounts to only one ounce (1 oz.) or less of marijuana.

Possessing up to 1 oz. of pot in Nevada is a misdemeanor. A first-time offense carries:

  • up to $600 in fines, and
  • perhaps rehab

Meanwhile, a second-time offense is also a misdemeanor and carries:

  • up to $1,000 in fines, and
  • perhaps rehab

Once a person racks up his/her third-time pot possession offense in Nevada, the D.A. will treat it as a gross misdemeanor in Nevada. This carries the possibility of incarceration:

  • up to $2,000 in fines, and/or
  • up to 364 days in jail

Finally, a fourth-time or successive offense of possessing less than 1 oz. of pot is a category E felony. This also carries the possibility of incarceration:

  • 1 to 4 years in Nevada State Prison, and
  • maybe up to $5,000 in fines

Note that the judge may choose to suspend the prison sentence and impose probation instead. Also note that possession of more than 1 oz. of marijuana is an automatic felony, though the judge may choose to suspend the prison sentence as well. Read more information on the Nevada crime of marijuana possession.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370