In Nevada, domestic partnership is a form of legal union available to couples of any gender. Domestic partnership offers couples nearly all the same rights and responsibilities rights granted pursuant to marriage in Nevada.
However, federal law does not recognize them all. In particular, marriage confers certain federal tax advantages not available to domestic partners. Marriage also grants surviving spouses rights in social security and federal pension benefits that are not available to domestic partners.
Entering into a domestic partnership is a simple matter of paying a fee and filing a Declaration of Domestic Partnership with the Nevada Secretary of State. Additionally, domestic partners can dissolve their union without going through Nevada divorce proceedings.
To help you better understand Nevada's domestic partnership laws, our Las Vegas family law attorneys discuss the following, below:
- 1. What are the requirements for a domestic partnership in Nevada?
- 2. How do I enter into a domestic partnership in Nevada?
- 3. Do I need to have a ceremony for a domestic partnership in Nevada?
- 4. What are the benefits of a domestic partnership in Nevada?
- 5. The difference between marriage and domestic partnership in Nevada
- 6. How do I end a domestic partnership in Nevada?
You may also wish to see our article on Same Sex Marriage and Domestic Partnerships in Nevada.
Chapter 122A of the Nevada Revised Statutes governs domestic partnerships. Under NRS 122A, both same-sex couples and heterosexual couples may register as domestic partners in Nevada if:
- Both people are at least 18 years old,
- The couple resides together,
- Neither partner is currently married or in a domestic partnership with another person,
- The couple is not closely related by blood, and
- Both partners are legally capable of consenting to the domestic partnership.
To register a domestic partnership in Nevada, couples must file a Domestic Partnership Declaration registration form with the Nevada Secretary of State. Each partner must sign and have the form notarized separately.
There is a registration fee of $50, which includes a black and white certificate. A ceremonial certificate is available for an additional $15.
It is possible to get an expedited domestic partnership in as little as two hours. There is an additional $100 fee for expedited service.
If a couple is already married or registered as domestic partners in another state they still must register in the state of Nevada in order for the state to recognize them as domestic partners. (Married people do not need to get married again or register in order to be recognized as a married couple).
If you are already married or registered in another state, the filing fee will be waived upon presentation of your marriage or domestic partnership certificate from the other state.
No solemnization ceremony is required in order to enter into a binding domestic partnership in Nevada.
Conversely, there is no requirement that any religion conduct a partnership ceremony. Each religious faith is free to determine whether to offer or allow a ceremony or blessing of domestic partnerships.
Nevada law confers numerous rights on domestic partners. Some of the most important rights accorded to domestic partners in Nevada are:
- Nevada community property rights;
- The right to inherit from a partner in the absence of a will;
- The right to visit a partner in the hospital;
- Medical decision-making and the authority to receive information about a partner's medical condition;
- The right to seek money damages for a partner's wrongful death in Nevada; and
- The right not to testify against a domestic partner.
Domestic partners in Nevada must continue to file as “single” individuals on their federal tax returns. However, the amount of reported income may change as a result of each partner owning half of any income earned by the partnership.
More importantly, domestic partners are not at present entitled to receive Social Security or Veteran's benefits on the death of disability of a partner. Domestic partners are also not entitled to the same insurance and pension benefits available to people who work for the U.S. government.
On the plus side, it can be easier and less expensive both to enter into and to dissolve a domestic partnership.
Your Las Vegas family lawyer can help you determine whether a Nevada marriage or domestic partner is better for your particular situation.
There are two ways to accomplish dissolution of a domestic partnership in Nevada:
- File a petition in family court as if it were a Nevada divorce, or
- If the couple qualifies, file a Termination of Domestic Partnership with the Nevada Secretary of State.
A couple may file a Termination of Domestic Partnership with the Secretary of State if the partners:
- Have been registered as domestic partners in the State of Nevada for five years or less;
- Have no minor children or and have executed an agreement for child custody and support;
- Have no community or joint property or have an executed agreement as to the disposition of such property;
- Waive any right to future support or have an executed agreement regarding support; and
- Waive their right to a more comprehensive proceeding pursuant to chapter 125 of the Nevada Revised Statutes.
Need help with domestic partnership issues in Las Vegas? Call us…
If you are considering marriage or domestic partnership in Las Vegas, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation.
Our experienced Las Vegas marriage lawyers can help you determine whether it is better to get married or create a domestic partnership in Nevada.
We can also help if you need a Nevada prenuptial agreement or an agreement for dissolution of a domestic partnership in Nevada.
To schedule your free, confidential consultation call us at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) or complete the form on this page.