SB38 – California DUI School for Repeat Offenders

Updated

SB38: 2nd-Time DUI School – Do I have to attend?

DUI defense lawyer Neil Shouse talks about SB38, the DUI school for repeat offenders in California. If someone is found guilty of a 2nd time DUI in California, then a judge will require that person to complete SB38, which consists of 72.5 hours of DUI classes and coursework. This includes alcohol education classes, group courses, and individual interviews. It takes about 18 months to complete the SB38 classes. SB38 classes cost money to take, which is the responsibility of the offender to pay. The cost of the classes varies, but is normally around $2,000. If a 2nd time DUI offender does not complete the SB38 classes as ordered by a judge, they may face a probation violation, additional jail time, their license may be revoked by the DMV, and they may face additional hardships, such as not being able to expunge the charges from their record at a later date. Often the best option for someone charged with a DUI is to fight the charges in court, and if you win you may not face any penalties such as license suspension, fines, jail time, or being forced to take the SB38 classes. More info at https://www.shouselaw.com/sb38

 
COVID-19 UPDATE
: During the coronavirus crisis, SB 38 is now being done online. Call your court and the DMV to confirm what providers they accept.

An SB 38 program (“SP”) is an alcohol awareness class (DUI school) that drivers must complete when they receive a second DUI conviction within 10 years of a prior DUI, or a wet reckless conviction.

The program is sometimes referred to as the “18-month second-time DUI offender program.” People convicted of a first-time DUI in California will be ordered to complete the shorter 90-day AB541 DUI class.

Note that the second DUI charge that mandates the program can be for either:

Title 9 of the California Health and Safety Code sets forth the minimum curriculum for all SB 38 programs. In general, an SP must include (at minimum):

  • education classes,
  • group sessions,
  • “extensive” group sessions, and
  • individual interviews.

As to the education classes in an SP, their primary focus is on California DUI laws, drug abuse, “problem” drinking, and the DUI court process.

An SB 38 class is an 18-month outpatient program and involves a total of 76.5 hours of mandated classes and course work.

If a driver is ordered into this class, attendance and completion will be a condition of the driver's DUI probation. A failure to complete the SP means a violation of this probation and the violator would then have to attend a probation violation hearing.

Offenders are expected to maintain sobriety while participating in a California court-ordered DUI school.

Upon successful completion of an SB 38, a participant is given a certificate of completion and documentation recording program fulfillment. The person then provides these documents to either:

  • the court, or
  • the DMV

as proof of program completion.

Our California criminal defense attorneys will highlight the following in this article:

man holding an alcoholic drink while looking down
An SB 38 program (“SP”) is an alcohol awareness class that drivers must complete when they receive a second DUI conviction within 10 years of: a prior DUI, or a wet reckless conviction.

1. Who is required to attend a California SB 38 program?

A driver will be required to attend an 18-month second-time DUI offender program if he receives a second DUI conviction within 10 years of:

  1. a prior DUI, or
  2. a wet reckless conviction.

Drivers must attend this alcohol awareness school regardless of whether they were convicted of, or pled guilty or “nolo contendere” to their second DUI charge. This includes a charge of either:

2. What is the purpose of the program?

An SP is designed to stop a repeat offender from receiving even more DUIs. It attempts to accomplish this goal by:

  1. identifying the source of the offender's habitual behavior, and
  2. guiding him through the recovery process.
adult dui class
The curriculum is set by the health department of the respective county and can include classes

3. What is the SB 38 curriculum?

Title 9 of the California Health and Safety Code sets forth the minimum curriculum for an SP. Please note, though, that the health department in each California county can add additional classes and meetings to these minimum requirements.

In general, an SB 38 must include (at minimum):

  • education classes – a combination of lectures and film (six classes are required, and each is two hours),
  • group sessions – groups meet every other week for the first 12 months (26 sessions are required, and each is two hours),
  • “extensive” group sessions – these meet once a month for the final six months of the program (six sessions are required, and each is one hour),
  • individual interviews – interviews meet alternate weeks for the first 12 months of the program (26 meetings are required, and each is 15 minutes).1

Please note that the education component above consists of education on California DUI laws, drug abuse, and “problem” drinking. This education can be given in the form of:

  • live lectures,
  • videos, and/or
  • group discussions.

Also note that the repeat-offender 18-month DUI school does include a "community reentry monitoring" element. This helps to transition the driver back into "normal" life.

The monitoring consists of help moving away from the rigorous California DUI school requirements and into self-help programs such as Alcoholics Anonymous. During this time, the program provider may also help the participant with job placement, if necessary.

4. How long does an SB 38 last?

An SP is an 18-month long program and involves a total of 76.5 hours of mandated classes and course work.

5. What happens if a person fails the program?

If a driver is ordered into this class, attendance and completion will be a condition of the driver's DUI probation. A failure to complete the program means a violation of this probation and the violator would then have to attend a probation violation hearing.

SB 38 participants are allowed a few absences. However, they must make these up before being issued a certificate of completion.2

If a person exceeds the set number of absences, he will be dropped from the SP.

Please also note that a participant can be dropped from a California DUI school program if:

  • he/she is disruptive to the class,
  • he/she sleeps during class, or
  • the instructor believes the participant poses a threat to the instructor or any other student(s).3

6. Must school attendees remain sober during the program?

Offenders are expected to maintain sobriety while participating in a court-ordered DUI education program. If a participant is suspected of being under the influence in class, the program may:

  • require the participant to undergo a breathalyzer or other chemical screening, or
  • expel the participant from the class and drop him/her from the program.4

7. What happens after program completion?

Upon successful completion of an SB 38, a participant is given a certificate of completion and documentation recording program fulfillment. The person then provides the same to either:

  • the court, or
  • the DMV

as proof of program completion.

Call us for help…

california dui legal experts
Call us at (855) LAW-FIRM

If you or someone you know is being ordered to attend an SB 38 because of a second California DUI charge, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation. We can be reached 24/7 at 855-LawFirm.

  1. 9 CCR 9876(c) -- DUI School Attendance.
  2. 9 CCR 9874 -- DUI Program Participant Sobriety and Behavior.

  3. 9 CCR 9874 -- DUI Program Participant Sobriety and Behavior.

Free attorney consultations...

The attorneys at Shouse Law Group bring more than 100 years collective experience fighting for individuals. We're ready to fight for you. Call us 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at 855-LAW-FIRM for a free case evaluation.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370