Nevada gun laws apply to both in-state and out-of-state residents. But only non-Nevadans with CCW permits from "reciprocal states" may carry concealed firearms in Nevada. Currently, these reciprocal states are:
- Idaho (Enhanced Permits)
- Mississippi (Enhanced Permits)
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota (both types of permits)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (Enhanced Permits)
- Utah (both types of permits)
- West Virginia
Carrying concealed firearms without a CCW permit (NRS 202.350) is a category C felony. The penalty includes:
- One to five (1 - 5) years in Nevada State Prison, and
- Up to $10,000 in fines (at the court's discretion)
Out-of-state residents who move to Nevada must obtain a CCW permit from Nevada within 60 days in order to continue carrying concealed.
Where are guns prohibited in Nevada?
The open carry of firearms is largely allowed in Nevada. But the following locations are off-limits to guns. It does not matter whether they are visible or concealed.
- Federal facilities
- Post offices
- Military bases (with some exceptions)
- VA facilities
- Legislative buildings
- Planes and airports (past the secure areas)
- Nevada System of Higher Education property (without written permission),
- Schools (without written permission)
- Childcare facilities (without written permission)
- Hoover Dam
Carrying a gun in a prohibited area is a misdemeanor. The penalty is:
- Up to six (6) months in jail, and/or
- Up to $1,000 in fines, and
- Possibly community service
Who cannot have guns in Nevada?
The following people are barred from possessing firearms. It makes no difference if they live in Nevada or not.
- Convicted felons;
- People convicted of domestic violence;
- Drug addicts;
- Convicted stalkers;
- Adverse parties in a domestic violence protection order;
- People adjudicated mentally ill or who have been committed; and
- Illegal aliens
Being an ex-felon, fugitive, or drug addict in possession of a firearm is a category B felony. The sentence is:
- One to six (1 - 6) years in prison, and
- Up to $5,000 in fines (at the judge's discretion)
The maximum prison sentence is reduced to four (4) years if the defendant is mentally ill or an undocumented alien.
Can you buy guns in Nevada without a background check?
No. Gun purchasers must pass a background check. It does not matter whether it is a commercial or private gun sale. (However, buyers with a current and valid CCW permit may be able to skip the background check.)
Can children carry guns in Nevada?
In general, minors under eighteen (18) may not carry guns in Nevada. There are certain exceptions where minors may have guns for hunting purposes. Learn more about Nevada juvenile gun laws.
Are assault weapons legal in Nevada?
Nevada law makes no mention of assault weapons. However, federal law prohibits machine gun possession. The only exception is if it was lawfully obtained and registered before May 19, 1986. Unlawful possession of a machine gun is a felony. The penalty is:
- Up to ten (10) years in federal prison, and/or
- Up to $250,000 in fines
Bump stocks are not also illegal in Nevada.