In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
Rape » Is there such a thing as “Spousal Rape” in Nevada?
Yes, and spousal rape (NRS 200.373) is punished the same as rape /sexual assault (NRS 200.366) of a non-spouse in Nevada. However, the law seems to indicate that marital rape a illegal only when force or threats of force are used. In contrast, a non-spouse can be convicted of rape even if no force or threats of force are use – all that matters is that the victim did not give consent or was too incapacitated to give consent, such as if the spouse was sleeping or heavily intoxicated.
Rape is a serious felony crime carrying a possible life sentence without parole. Potential defenses to spousal rape allegations are that the defendant was falsely accused or that no penetrative sex occurred.
Spousal rape is when one spouse employs use of force – or threats of force – to have sexual penetration with the other. NRS 200.373 states that “it is no defense to a charge of sexual assault that the perpetrator was, at the time of the assault, married to the victim, if the assault was committed by force or by the threat of force.”
So if one spouse penetrates his/her sleeping spouse, this is arguably not rape under state law because no force or threats of force were used. In short, it might not matter that there was no mutual matrimonial consent since the awake spouse was not being violent or threatening. (But if the sleeping spouse wakes and objects, it would definitely be rape for the other spouse to continue with the sex act by using force or threats of force.)
There is no case law in Nevada regarding spousal rape, so it is unclear how exactly courts interpret NRS 200.373.
Three possible defense arguments that Nevada criminal defense lawyers may use in spousal rape cases are:
Note that simply being married is not a consent to rape charges. There is no marital rape exemption or loophole other than that the rape must involve force or threats of force.
Otherwise, the sentence for violating marital sexual assault laws is life in prison with the possibility of parole after 10 years.
Either way, the defendant upon conviction would need to register as a Tier III sex offender (NRS 179D.117) for life.
Note that sexual assault also carries lifetime supervision under NRS 176.0931. However, it may be possible to end it after 10 years.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Nevada law has no statute of limitations to bring rape (NRS 200.366) charges when either 1) the suspect is identified by DNA evidence, and/or 2) a police report of the alleged rape is filed within 20 years of the incident. Otherwise, there is a 20-year statute of limitations for sexual assaults that occurred on or ...
Consent is an ineffective defense to rape in Nevada when the victim is too incapacitated to give consent, is forced to give consent, or is under 16 years old. Nevada defines sexual assault (“rape”) as having sexual penetration with another person without his/her consent. Therefore a common defense to rape charges is that the “victim” ...
Does Nevada have a "Romeo and Juliet" law?Watch this video on YouTube Yes. Normally the age of consent in Nevada is 16 years old. But under the state’s Romeo & Juliet law, minors age 14 and 15 may have consensual sex with fellow teens less than four years older than them. If the age difference ...
Under Colorado law, prosecutors generally have 20 years to bring sexual assault (CRS 18-3-402) charges after an alleged rape. If the victim was age 15, 16, or 17 at the time of the offense, this 20-year statute of limitation does not begin running until the victim turns 18. However, Colorado prosecutors can bring rape charges ...