NRS 484B.657 - "Vehicular Manslaughter" Laws in Nevada


NRS 484B.657
is the Nevada law that makes vehicular manslaughter a misdemeanor. The statute defines vehicular manslaughter as when a driver:

"proximately causes the death of another person through an act or omission that constitutes simple negligence."

"Simple negligence" is failing to act as a reasonable driver. It does not require maliciousness or intention to harm. Just a momentary lapse in judgment that ends in tragedy.

This is why violating NRS 484B.657 carries lax punishments. Sometimes judges order just a fine and no jail.

In this article, our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys answer frequently-asked-questions about vehicular manslaughter:

fatal car accident (NRS 484B.657)
The least serious homicide crime in Nevada is an NRS 484B.657 violation.

1. What are examples of vehicular manslaughter?

Vehicular manslaughter results from the driver's negligence.1 Five examples of negligent behavior that may turn deadly are:

  1. Daydreaming and forgetting to stop at a red light;
  2. Speeding slightly over the limit;
  3. Driving without realizing the taillights are broken;
  4. Driving while eating; or
  5. Breaking too fast

Most of the time, these negligent behaviors do not cause accidents. Drivers have close calls all the time with no consequences. But when a slip-up causes a fatal car wreck or pedestrian knockdown, the driver may face vehicular manslaughter charges.

1.1. Fatal reckless driving

Vehicular manslaughter is a less serious charge than reckless driving causing death (NRS 484B.653). Recklessness is a willful disregard of others' safety. An example would be going twice the speed limit or plowing through a school zone.

Reckless driving is more blameworthy than negligent driving. That is why fatal reckless driving is prosecuted as a felony.2 Defense attorneys always try to get fatal reckless driving charges reduced to vehicular manslaughter.

2. What are the penalties?

Vehicular manslaughter is only a misdemeanor in Nevada. The punishment includes:

  • Up to 6 months in jail, and/or
  • Up to $1,000 in fines3

The sentence may be doubled if the accident occurred in a work zone.4

Depending on the case, the defendant may be able to avoid jail.

2.1. Driver's license consequences

An NRS 484B.657 conviction also carries a one-year driver's license suspension.5 But the defendant may be able to drive after six months on a restricted license.6

suspended license.
Causing a fatal car accident by simple negligence carries a one-year license revocation in Nevada.

3. What are the defenses?

The primary defense is that the defendant was not at fault for the accident. Valuable evidence would include:

  • Testimony from an accident reconstruction expert;
  • Surveillance video;
  • Eyewitnesses;
  • Weather reports;
  • Road reports; and
  • The drivers' medical records

The defense attorney would then investigate the following possibilities:

  • The victim was more at fault than the defendant;
  • The defendant had an unforeseeable medical episode;
  • A third-party was the one really at fault; or
  • Neither party was at fault, and the event was a blameless accident.

The prosecution has the burden to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. So the defense attorney would try to show that the state's evidence is too weak to sustain a conviction. If the prosecutors see they cannot win, they may drop the charges.

4. Can the record get sealed?

Yes. NRS 484B.657 cases are sealable in Nevada. Convictions can be sealed one year after the case ends.7 If the case gets dismissed, there is no waiting period.8

The record seal process takes up to one year. Learn how to seal Nevada criminal records.

5. What are the immigration consequences?

Vehicular manslaughter does not qualify as a crime of moral turpitude or an aggravated felony. Therefore, it is probably not a deportable offense.

However, immigration law is in an uncertain state. The rules are constantly being rewritten. So non-citizens charged with any crime should consult with an attorney right away.

6. Is vehicular homicide different?

Yes. It is a separate and unrelated crime.

Vehicular homicide (NRS 484C.130) is a fatal DUI following three prior DUI convictions. It is a category A felony with a possible life sentence.

After a fatal car accident, the least serious crime the driver can face is vehicular manslaughter. The most serious is vehicular homicide.

Receptionists waiting for your call.
Call our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys at 702-DEFENSE for a FREE consultation today.

Call a Nevada criminal defense attorney...

Arrested in Nevada? Call our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673). Consultations are always free. And we may be able to get the charges reduced or dismissed.

In California? Go to our page on vehicular manslaughter (92(c) PC).


Legal References

  1. NRS 484B.657; Cornella v. Churchill Cnty., 377 P.3d 97, 132 Nev. Adv. Rep. 58, (2016).
  2. NRS 484B.653.
  3. NRS 484B.657.
  4. NRS 484B.130.
  5. NRS 483.460.
  6. NRS 483.464.
  7. NRS 179.245.
  8. NRS 179.255.

Free attorney consultations...

The attorneys at Shouse Law Group bring more than 100 years collective experience fighting for individuals. We're ready to fight for you. Call us 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at 855-LAW-FIRM for a free case evaluation.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370