Can I listen to or record a conversation in Nevada without someone's consent?
NRS 200.650 makes it a Nevada category D felony to willfully and knowingly invade someone's privacy by using a mechanical or electronic or other listening device to monitor or record another person's private conversation without that person's consent.
NRS 200.650 also prohibits disclosing the existence or substance of such conversation unless authorized to do so by one of the persons engaging in the conversation.
Criminal penalties for Nevada invasion of privacy by listening device can include:
- 1-4 years in Nevada prison, and
- maybe up to $5,000 in criminal fines.
You may also be sued by the person whose communication you intercept in a civil lawsuit. If the other person wins, he or she is entitled to recover:
- The greater of $1,000 or $100 per day of violation; plus
- Punitive damages; and
- His or her costs reasonably incurred in the action, including a reasonable attorney's fee.1
Charged with criminal invasion of privacy in Nevada? Call us for help…
If you or someone you know has been arrested on charges of invading someone's privacy, our Las Vegas, Nevada criminal defense lawyers may be able to help. Our caring criminal attorneys have decades of courtroom and negotiating experience.
Don't let an innocent mistake deprive you of your liberty.
Call us at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) or use the form on this page to schedule a free consultation. One of our Las Vegas criminal lawyers will get back to you promptly to discuss your case and begin planning the best defense to your Nevada invasion of privacy charges.
To learn about invasion of privacy by listening device in California, please see our article on California's criminal law on eavesdropping.
- NRS 200.690.