The Nevada Sex Offender Registry is a database of Nevada residents and visitors who have been convicted of certain sex offenses and crimes against children. Currently there are about 7,200 convicted sex offenders in Nevada.
Nevada law divides convicted sex offenders into three categories ("tiers"), each with its own registration requirements:
Classification of Nevada sex offender
Frequency and length of sex offender registration requirement
Every 90 days for life
Every 6 months for 25 years
Every year for 15 years
Failing to register as a sex offender in Nevada (NRS 179D.550) is a separate crime carrying possible Nevada State Prison time. But certain offenders may be eligible for early termination of sex registry requirements in Nevada.
Being a convicted sex offender carries an enormous social stigma and could ruin the defendant's future employment and living prospects. Therefore anyone charged with a sex crime or a crime against children is strongly advised to seek legal representation to fight the charges.
In this article, our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys discuss the following topics regarding the Nevada sex offender registry:
- 1. What is the Nevada Sex Offender Registry?
- 2. How are sex offenders classified?
- 3. What are the sex offender registration requirements?
- 4. What happens if an offender fails to register?
- 5. How can someone get removed from the registry?
- 6. How can someone search the registry?
The Nevada Sex Offender Registry is a public database of people convicted of certain sex offenses or crimes against children. The Registry is also sometimes referred to as the "Adam Walsh registry."
People typically search the database in order to learn if there are sex offenders near where they live or are planning to move. The Registry is also supposed to serve as a deterrent to people considering committing a sex offense.
Offenders who are publicly searchable in the database are those classified as either Tier II or Tier III. Tier I offenders are also searchable when the victim is a child. Meanwhile, Tier I offenders where the victim is an adult are not publicly searchable in the database.1
Nevada law has three categories of convicted sex offenders. From most serious to least serious, they are:
- Tier III (a.k.a. Tier 3);
- Tier II (a.k.a. Tier 2); and
- Tier I (a.k.a. Tier 1)
Tier 3 classification is reserved for Nevada defendants convicted of violent sex crimes, non-parental kidnapping, and serious crimes involving children, especially young children.
Specifically, Tier 3 crimes include:
- the Nevada crime of 1st-degree murder (NRS 200.030) committed in the (attempted) perpetration of sexual assault, sexual abuse, or sexual molestation of a child under 14 years old;
- the Nevada crime of sexual assault (NRS 200.366) (a.k.a. rape);
- the Nevada crime of battery with intent to commit sexual assault (NRS 200.400);
- the Nevada crime of child abuse (NRS 200.508) involving sexual abuse or sexual exploitation of a victim aged 12 years old or younger;
- the Nevada crime of kidnapping (NRS 200.310) a child less than 18 years old (unless the offender is the parent or guardian of the victim);
- any sexual offense under NRS 179D.097 or crime against a child under NRS 179D.0357 by a defendant who had already been classified as a Tier 2 offender;
- any crime similar to or more severe than those described in 42 U.S.C. § 16911(4); and
- a Nevada attempt (NRS 193.330) or a Nevada conspiracy (NRS 199.480) to commit any of the above crimes
According to the U.S. Department of Justice's review of Nevada sex offender law, Tier 3 offenses also include:
- the Nevada crime of incest (NRS 201.180) with a victim less than 16 years old;
- the Nevada crime of lewdness which a child (NRS 201.230) under 14 years old; and
- the Nevada crime of statutory sexual seduction (NRS 200.368) (a.k.a. statutory rape) when the defendant is at least 21 years old
Tier III offenders are publicly searchable through the Nevada sex offender registry. As discussed below in section 3, Tier 3 offenders must register at least once every 90 days for life.2
Learn more about Tier III sex offenders in Nevada (NRS 179D.117).
Tier 2 classification is generally reserved for defendants convicted of crimes against children. Specifically, Tier 2 crimes include the following if the victim is under 18 years old:
- the Nevada crime of luring (NRS 201.560) if punished as a Nevada felony;
- child abuse involving sexual abuse or sexual exploitation of a child at least 13 years old;
- the Nevada crime of sex trafficking (NRS 201.300) (formerly known as pandering);
- living off the earnings of a prostitute;
- the Nevada crime of child pornography, including:
- Using a child to produce pornography in Nevada (NRS 200.710)
- Promoting a sexual performance of a child in Nevada (NRS 200.720)
- Advertising or distributing child pornography in Nevada (NRS 200.725)
- Controlling the internet to watch child pornography in Nevada (NRS 200.727)
- Possessing child pornography in Nevada (NRS 200.730);
- any offense comparable or more severe than those described in 42 U.S.C. § 16911(3); and
- an attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the aforementioned crimes;
Additionally, Tier 2 crimes include the following felonies:
- the Nevada crime of false imprisonment (NRS 20.460) of a child (unless the defendant is the child's parent or guardian);
- the Nevada crime of involuntary servitude of a child under NRS 200.4631 (unless the defendant is the child's parent or guardian); and
- an attempt to commit any of the aforementioned crimes;
According to the U.S. Department of Justice's review of Nevada sex offender law, Tier 2 offenses also include:
- incest if the victim is 16 or 17 years old;
- lewdness with a child aged 14 or 15 years old;
- the Nevada crime of sexual conduct between school employees and pupils (NRS 201.540); and
- the Nevada crime of sexual conduct between college employees and pupils (NRS 201.550)
Finally, Tier 1 offenders will be reclassified as Tier 2 offenders if they are later convicted of a felony Tier 1 offense (see the next subsection for a list of Tier 1 offenses).
Tier 2 offenders are publicly searchable through the Nevada sex offender registry. As discussed below in section 3, Tier 2 offenders must register at least once every 180 days for 25 years.3
Learn more about Tier 2 sex offenders in Nevada (NRS 179D.115).
Tier 1 classification is generally reserved for defendants convicted of non-violent sex crimes.
Specifically, Tier 1 crimes include the following:
- statutory sexual seduction if the defendant is less than 21 years old;
- the Nevada crime of administering drugs to another in commission of a violent crime (NRS 200.408);
- the Nevada crime of administering drugs to another in commission of a felony (NRS 200.405);
- the Nevada crime of open or gross lewdness (NRS 201.210);
- the Nevada crime of indecent exposure (NRS 201.220);
- sexual penetration of a human corpse;
- any other offense that has an element involving a sexual act or sexual conduct with another; and
- an attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the aforementioned crimes
In addition, Tier 1 crimes include the following offenses if they are sexually motivated:
- the Nevada crime of coercion (NRS 207.190);
- kidnapping (first or second degree);
- false imprisonment (first or second degree); and
- the Nevada crime of burglary (NRS 205.060)
Although Nevada law does not specifically state it, it appears that people convicted of the following offenses are also required to register as a Tier 1 offender:
- luring a mentally ill person
- the Nevada crime of having oral or anal sex in public (NRS 201.190), (which is also called the Nevada crime of sodomy); or
- the Nevada crime of bestiality (NRS 201.455)
Tier I offenders with adult victims are not publicly searchable on the Nevada sex offender registry. Tier I offenders with child victims are. As discussed in the next section, Tier 1 offenders must register at least once a year for 15 years.4
Learn more about Tier 1 sex offenders in Nevada (NRS 179D.113).
People who have been adjudicated as sex offenders in Nevada are required to do the following:
- Register with the local police within 48 hours of getting released from custody following the conviction, which includes submitting to fingerprints, palm prints, and DNA samples;
- Inform local police within 48 hours of any change of name, residence, address, employment, or student status (for example, see the Las Vegas Metropolitan Sex Offender registration page);
- Inform local police whenever they are staying in a location for longer than 30 days after originally reporting a visit of fewer than 30 days;
- Submit an annual verification form; and
- Regularly appear in person at a local police station:
- Tier 1 offenders must register at least once a year for 15 years;
- Tier 2 offenders must register at least once every 180 days for 25 years;
- Tier 3 offenders must register at least once every 90 days for life5
Offenders who do not meet their requirements -- or who give false information to authorities -- face an additional felony charge (discussed in the next section).
Note that people convicted of sex offenses or crimes against children in other states or jurisdictions are still considered offenders in Nevada; therefore, they must abide by Nevada's registration requirements while in Nevada.
Also note that offenders who wish to keep their Nevada driver's license during their registration period must renew it annually.6
It is a felony not to register as a sex offender as required. The penalty depends on whether the person has previous convictions of failing to register:
|Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Nevada||Penalties|
The judge may grant probation in lieu of incarceration.
Subsequent offense (within 7 years of the first)
The judge may not grant probation in lieu of incarceration.
The Nevada DMV will also deny people a renewal of their driver's license if they fail to register.7
Early termination of sex offender registration requirements may be possible if:
- the person is a Tier I offender who has registered for at least 10 consecutive years; or
- the person is a Tier III offender who has registered for at least 25 years, and the underlying offense was a juvenile delinquency
(There is no way for Tier II offenders to shorten their requirement to register for 25 years.)
In order to be considered for early termination, eligible Tier I or Tier III offenders must meet the following four requirements:
- have not been convicted of another felony (or other crime carrying potentially more than 1 year in prison);
- have not been convicted of any other sex crime;
- have completed any periods of supervised release, probation or parole; and
- have completed a sex offender treatment program certified by the state of Nevada or the Attorney General of the United States.
Note that early termination of registration requirements is not automatic. The person must file a petition in the local district court, and the court will hold a hearing to decide whether to grant the petition.8
Also note that early termination does not:
- seal the Nevada criminal record,
- restore Nevada gun rights, or
- remove the duty to disclose past convictions on job and housing applications
But it may be possible to get civil rights and gun rights restored through a Nevada pardon.
333 W. Nye Lane, Suite 100
Carson City, NV 89706
The public can search the Registry in any of the following four ways:
- by first and/or last name;
- by zip code;
- by one, two, or three miles within a specific address; or
- by license plate number
The Registry provides the following information about Tier II and Tier III offenders as well as Tier I offenders with child victims:
- name and known aliases;
- date of birth;
- primary address and other addresses (such as employer or school);
- physical description (race, height, weight, hair color, eye color, scars, tattoos, other marks);
- Tier Level (only Tiers II and III are searchable in the registry); and
- conviction information (date, description, court, name convicted under, city-township of conviction, location of penal institution and/or hospital, and statute violated)
State workers try to keep the Registry as updated and correct as possible, but there are some errors. Contact the Registry at 775-684-6262 to inform them of inaccuracies.
Call a Nevada criminal defense attorney...
Have you been arrested in Nevada for a sex crime or a crime against a child? Then it is imperative you consult with an attorney right away. A conviction could not only put you behind bars and cost you thousands. It can land you on the Nevada Sex Offender Registry.
Call our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) for a FREE consultation. We may be able to get your charges reduced to a lesser offense or dismissed completely.
In California? Learn about California sex offender registry laws.
In Colorado? Learn about Colorado sex offender registry laws.
- NRS 179D.151; NRS 179D.160; NRS 179D.170; Geoff Dornan, "New sex offender registration law in effect in Nevada," Nevada Appeal (October 19, 2018).
- NRS 179D.117; NRS 179D.480; Nevada Assembly Bill 579 (2007).
- NRS 179D.115; Id.
- NRS 179D.113; Id.
- NRS 179D.151; NRS 179D.160; NRS 179D.170; NRS 179D.480.
- NRS 483.283.
- NRS 179D.550.
- NRS 179D.490.