Las Vegas Car Seat Injury Lawyers

toddler in car seat

Who is Liable for My Child's Car Seat Injuries in Nevada?

Under Nevada state law, children under six years of age or weighing less than 60 pounds must ride in a car safety seat appropriate for the child's size and weight.

According to the Centers for Disease Control, an infant who is properly restrained in a car seat is 71% less likely to die in a car accident than one who is not restrained. For toddlers, the death rates are cut by more than half.

The design and manufacture of child restraint systems in the Unites States is governed by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 213.[1] It includes lengthy safety specifications as well as requirements for warning labels.

If your child was injured in an accident due to a design or manufacturing defect or improper labeling, you may be entitled to compensation -- even if the accident was your fault. Such compensation can include payment for:  

  • Medical bills,
  • Rehabilitation,
  • Long term care,
  • Pain and suffering, and/or
  • Wrongful death.

 Our caring Las Vegas personal injury lawyers can help you figure out whether and to what extent the car seat or automobile manufacturer may be liable for the injuries suffered by your child.

Avoiding Car Seat Injuries

A car seat will usually make a child more insulated, but Clark County parents should keep an eye out for safety issues.

A defective car seat—or one that has been in a previous accident—may be inadequate protection for your child. Some of the red flags Las Vegas parents should keep in mind when it comes to car seats include:

  • Product Recalls: Even the best companies periodically release products that need to be recalled. You can find a list of current recalls at the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's Child Seat Recall Campaign Listing.

  • Previous Accidents: Car seats work in part by crumpling on the inside and taking the force of the impact so your kids do not have to. Therefore a car seat should never be re-used after an accident, even a minor fender bender. Do not purchase used car seats because it is impossible to tell just from looking whether a seat has been in a road accident. Car seats also expire, so check the expiration date.

  • Improper Installation: Parents must not assume they know how to properly install a car seat. Always check the installation manual to avoid potential car seat injuries later. To make sure your car seat passes inspection, you can go to one of the Clark County inspection stations listed here.

Was your child injured by a defective car seat? Call us for help...

female receptionist

If your child was injured in an accident or by swallowing a part on a defective car seat, our compassionate Nevada car seat attorneys may be able to help.

For a free consultation, call us at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673). We'll give you the honest legal advice you deserve and the strong advocate you need to get justice on behalf of your child.


Free attorney consultations...

The attorneys at Shouse Law Group bring more than 100 years collective experience fighting for individuals. We're ready to fight for you. Call us 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at 855-LAW-FIRM for a free case evaluation.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370