What is the presumptive maximum for child support in Nevada?

Nevada law puts a general cap -- called a "presumptive maximum" -- on Nevada child support payments. However, judges have the discretion to order that parents pay more than the presumptive maximum if the situation calls for it.

gavel cash (presumptive maximum)
Child support payments are typically capped in Nevada.

Current "presumptive maximums" in Nevada

A parent's presumptive maximum of child support payments depends on his/her gross monthly income range (GMI).

The presumptive maximum amounts increase every year. For July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2020, the presumptive monthly maximums are the following.

GMI range

 Presumptive maximum of child support per child

$0 to less than $4,235

$728

$4,235 to less than $6,351

$800

$6,351 to less than $8,467

$876

$8,467 to less than $10,585

$946

$10,585 to less than $12,701

 $1,019

$12,701 to less than $14,816

 $1,091

$14,816 and higher

 $1,165

Note that these numbers are per child. So if a parent is supporting three children, then he/she would multiply the presumptive maximum by three.

A parent can determine his/her GMI by adding together all his/her income received each month from any source, including tops and bonuses. To calculate GMI, the parent should not deduct:

  • personal income taxes,
  • contributions for retirement benefits,
  • contributions to a pension, or
  • fany other personal expenses

However, self-employed parents may deduct all legitimate business expenses to calculate GMI.

Also note that parents are not obligated to support children who are:

  • at least 18 years old (unless they are 18 and still enrolled in high school),
  • legally emancipated in Nevada, or
  • not under a legal disability

In most cases, parents are not obligated to financially support step-children. But they are just as responsible for their adopted children as they are for their biological children.

Finally, note that the presumptive minimum parents are required to pay is $100 per month. But parents may be able to avoid this obligation if they have legitimate reasons for being unable to pay. Willful unemployment is not a good excuse.

Factors that may increase presumptive maximums in Nevada

Every case is different, and child support payments that are sufficient for one child may be insufficient for others. Some factors court may consider when increasing a parent's child support obligations beyond the presumptive maximums include:

  1. the cost of health insurance;
  2. the cost of childcare;
  3. any special educational needs of the child;
  4. the age of the child;
  5. the legal responsibility of the parents for the support of others;
  6. the value of services contributed by either parent;
  7. any public assistance paid to support the child;
  8. any expenses reasonably related to the mother's pregnancy and confinement;
  9. the cost of transportation of the child to and from visitation if the custodial parent moved with the child from the jurisdiction of the court which ordered the support, and the noncustodial parent remained;
  10. the amount of time the child spends with each parent;
  11. any other necessary expenses for the benefit of the child; and
  12. the relative income of both parents

Note that if one parent has primary physical custody, then the other parent is the only one obligated to pay child support. If the parents have joint physical custody, then the court calculates what both their obligations would be; then the court orders the parent with the higher financial obligation to pay the difference. Learn more about the Nevada child support calculator

Free attorney consultations...

The attorneys at Shouse Law Group bring more than 100 years collective experience fighting for individuals. We're ready to fight for you. Call us 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at 855-LAW-FIRM for a free case evaluation.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370