One of the harshest long-term consequences of getting a DUI conviction in Nevada is the effect on your car insurance, specifically:
- In most states including Nevada and California, you are required to file an "SR 22" with the state DMV before your driver's license can be reinstated.
- Your insurance company may consider you a "high risk" driver and then raise your rates when your policy ends or else refuse to renew your coverage at all.
Our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys have decades of experience in fighting drunk driving charges and saving our clients' licenses. If you are arrested for DUI, it is important you retain legal counsel to try to get the case dismissed or reduced right away to help keep your insurance company from penalizing you for it.
SR 22 insurance - reinstating your Nevada driver's license
A temporary suspension of driving privileges is a standard DUI penalty in Nevada. In order for the Nevada DMV to reinstate your license once the suspension period ends, you will be required to file an SR 22 for at least (3) years. If you have an out of state license, the DMV of your home state will most likely impose the same requirement.
An SR 22 is simply a document showing "proof of financial responsibility." You get it from your auto insurance company. It shows the DMV that you currently have the minimum liability coverage required in order to have a drivers license. Specifically, an SR 22 form certifies that you have at least the following auto insurance:
- $15,000 - bodily injury or death of one person
- $30,000 - bodily injury or death of more than one person
- $10,000 - injury or damage to the property of others
Following a DUI license suspension, you must obtain an SR 22 in order to get your license reinstated, whether or not you own a vehicle. And if your car insurance policy is cancelled, your insurance company will notify the DMV who will then re-suspend your license until you get new SR 22 coverage.
To learn more about Nevada SR-22 insurance laws, go to our article on Nevada SR-22 insurance laws
DUI Consequences - Nevada Car Insurance
If you get convicted of a DUI, Nevada car insurance laws prohibit carriers from suddenly increasing your premiums or dropping your coverage during your existing policy period. Once the policy period ends however, many insurance companies will brand you "high risk" and elect to increase your rates or cease coverage completely even if the DUI charges are still pending. (See NRS 687B.145)
You can usually find some insurance companies that will agree to cover you despite having a DUI on your record, but your premiums will almost definitely be higher than standard policies. It is recommended you consult with an insurance agent in the Nevada Insurance Department for advice on how to find fair "high risk" motor insurance rates.
We are here to help . . .
If you have been charged with drunk driving, call our Las Vegas DUI defense attorneys at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) for a free phone consultation. We can explain these car insurance issues in further detail. And we may be able to help you win your DUI case.
For information about California SR 22 insurance, go to our article on California SR 22 insurance.