Most people do not like the sight of litter. But did you know that in the state of Nevada, littering is not only a nuisance, is also a crime? There are local as well as state laws which prohibit the depositing of garbage and other unwholesome or hazardous materials on public and private property.
Most Nevada counties and cities have their own littering laws, which tend to be similar. In Las Vegas, City Ordinance 9.12 prohibits the depositing of litter, trash and/or debris on residential property or vacant lots visible to neighboring properties and streets. The Las Vegas ordinance also requires property owners to dispose of garbage in proper trash receptacles.
Non-compliant property owners will receive a notice from the city ordering the correction of the violation. If offending property owners do not obey the city order, the city will remedy the violation, and charge the owner for the cost of the removal as well as a $75 administration fee. Property owners do have a right to appeal to the city court if they do not believe they were in violation of the ordinance.
Additionally, Nevada Statute 475.030 makes it a criminal misdemeanor for anyone to willfully or negligently throw any lighted cigarette, cigar, ashes, match or other material out of a moving vehicle. The statute also makes it a crime to discard such material anywhere where it may cause a fire.
Nevada Statute 202.185 prohibits the depositing any dirt, garbage, rubbish, or dead animal on or within 1,000 feet of a public highway. Similarly, Nevada Statute 202.180 legally prohibits the depositing of dead animals into waterways such as lakes creeks or rivers.
The penalties for littering depend upon the type of material or substance that is littered, as well as where it is deposited. Dumping hazardous material, such as sewer sludge, or content from a septic tank, typically increases the penalties.
Littering in violation of state statutes are generally misdemeanor charges. The penalties for the first offense range from a fine of $1,000 to six months in jail. However, a second or third offense within a two year period, qualify as a gross misdemeanor carrying a penalty of a $2,000 fine and/or a year in jail.
If you have been charged with a littering crime and want to challenge the allegations, contact us.