Paying a child for sex in Colorado
In Colorado, it is a felony to pay a child under 18 to perform a sex act with you or anyone else.
Section 18-7-406 (1) C.R.S. of the Colorado criminal code provides:
Any person who performs any of the following with a child not his spouse commits patronizing a prostituted child:
- (a) Engages in an act which is prostitution of a child or by a child…[or]
- (b) Enters or remains in a place of prostitution with intent to engage in an act which is prostitution of a child or by a child…
Penalties for patronizing a child prostitute
Patronizing a prostituted child is a Colorado class 3 felony. Consequences of paying for sex with a child in Colorado include:
- 4-12 years in prison (mandatory), and
- A fine of $3,000-$750,000.
You will also be required to register as a Colorado sex offender.
Defenses to patronizing a prostituted child
Although it can feel hopeless, there are actually quite a number of defenses to charges of paying a prostituted child for sex.
Some of the most common defenses we see include (but are not limited to):
- You did not pay, or offer to pay, a child for sex,
- The “child” was 18 or older at the time of the alleged act,
- You were a victim of mistaken identity, or
- The police violated your rights or engaged in misconduct.
Call us for help…
Our Colorado criminal defense lawyers have decades of experience representing clients accused of sex offenses. If you or someone you know has been charged with a crime involving child prostitution, we may be able to help.
Our legal team can also assist with gaining inmate release at any of the Colorado jails, including the Larimer County Jail and Detention Center.
We offer free, no-obligation consultations to clients anywhere in the state of Colorado. To reach one of our experienced Colorado sex crimes lawyers, fill out the form on this page, or call us at our Denver home office:
Colorado Legal Defense Group
1400 16th Street ste. 400
16 Market Square
Denver CO 80202