Enticing or inviting a child for sex in Colorado
As a first-time sexual offense against a child, enticement can be punished by up to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000.
To help you better understand Colorado's law against enticement of a child, our Colorado criminal defense lawyers explain:
- 1. What is enticement of a child?
- 2. Criminal penalties for Colorado enticement of a child
- 3. Additional consequences of enticing a child
- 4. Defending charges of enticing a child
18-3-305 (1) C.R.S. provides:
A person commits the crime of enticement of a child if he or she invites or persuades, or attempts to invite or persuade, a child under the age of fifteen years to enter any vehicle, building, room, or secluded place with the intent to commit sexual assault or unlawful sexual contact upon said child. It is not necessary to a prosecution for attempt under this subsection (1) that the child have perceived the defendant's act of enticement.
As a first-time sexual offense against a child, enticement is a Colorado class 4 felony. The judge must sentence you to mandatory prison time. Consequences of a conviction include:
- 2-6 years in prison, and
- A possible fine of $2,000-$500,000.
However, enticement increases to a Colorado class 3 felony if:
- The enticement results in bodily injury to the child, or
- You have a previous conviction for:
- Enticement of a child,
- Sexual assault on a child, or
- Conspiracy or attempt to commit either of these offenses.
As a class 3 felony, enticement of a child carries penalties of:
- 4-12 years in prison, and
- A possible fine of $3,000-$750,000.
A conviction for (or a plea of no contest to) enticement charges will require you to register as a Colorado sex offender.
Additionally, if you are a current or former employee of a Colorado school district, or you hold a license or authorization under article 60.5 of title 22 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, the court will report you to the department of education if:
- You are convicted,
- You plead nolo contendere (no contest), or
- You receive a deferred sentence for enticement.
Defenses to Colorado enticing a child charges depend on the specific facts of your case. However, common defenses include (but are not limited to):
- The “child” was 15 or older at the time of the alleged offense,
- The child entered the room, vehicle, etc. of his or her own accord,
- You invited the child to come with you for a lawful purpose,
- The child misunderstood your intent, or
- The police entrapped you or engaged in other misconduct.
Call us for help…
Innocent people often get accused of enticement of young children when the child misinterprets the adult's attention. Sometimes, the child is being used by a parent to get back at someone during a custody battle or other dispute.
Our caring Colorado sex crimes lawyers know that there are at least two sides to every story. It's our job and our privilege to present yours in the best possible light.
If you have been charged with enticement of a child in Colorado, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation. One of our Colorado criminal attorneys will get back to you promptly to discuss your case and how to best protect your reputation and freedom.
We represent clients accused of sex crimes throughout the state of Colorado. You can reach us confidentially using the form on this page, or call us at our Denver home office:
Colorado Legal Defense Group
1400 16th Street ste. 400
16 Market Square
Denver CO 80202