Located in Greeley, CO, the Platte Valley Youth Services Center (PVYSC) serves a male and female juvenile population accused or convicted of one or more Colorado juvenile offenses. This 119-bed facility holds youthful detainees aged 10 to 17, and provides long-term custody for sentenced individuals between 12 and 20.
The Platte Valley correctional facility is one of 10 similar residential juvenile detention centers included in Colorado's juvenile corrections reform movement of 2017. Additional overhauls are anticipated for the state's troubled system, as detailed in this November, 2018 article.
The address and phone number of PVYSC in Greeley is:
The following information is provided by Colorado criminal defense lawyers, for the benefit of family members with a loved one now held at the Platte Valley juvenile hall facility. We cover these topics:
- 1. First Steps after Intake
- 2. Contacting Your Child/Teen
- 3. Visitation Policies
- 4. Life at PVYSC
- 5. Criminal Defense Help
1. After an Arrest…
A juvenile taken into custody at PVYSC should have a detention hearing within 48 hours, but this timeline does not count weekends and holidays. At the hearing, a juvenile court judge will consider the charges, past criminal history and other factors, and determine whether the minor can be released or further detained. If the charge is a serious (violent) felony, there could possibly be a transfer to adult court.
The Platte Valley detention center is governed by the 8th, 13th, 17th, 19th and 20th judicial districts, serving 12 Colorado counties. These include: Larimer, Jackson, Boulder, Weld, Adams, Morgan, Logan, Sedgwick, Phillips, Washington, Yuma, and Kit Carson.
2. Contact Policies for Family
At the Platte Valley Youth Services Center, newly arrived detainees are allowed two phone calls, which they can use to contact a parent/guardian and an attorney. Staying on at the facility, the youth are permitted to make outgoing (local or collect) calls on a regularly schedule basis, and parent, guardians, and custodians are free to call in.
Contact by mail is also encouraged and facilitated. All juveniles are provided with postage to send out two letters a week, and can send additional correspondence if funds allow. Mail will not generally be read unless the PVYSC staff suspects a security or safety issue.
3. Detention Center Visitation
Regular visiting hours at the Platte Valley juvenile detention center are as follows:
Monday through Friday by appointment, with available time slots from 9:00 to 11:00 a.m., 1:00 to 2:30 p.m., 3:30 to 4:30 p.m., and 7:00 to 9:30 p.m.
Saturdays and Sundays, from 10:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Most general visits are 30 minutes long, and are scheduled through the Platte Valley Control Center at (970) 304-6220. Family members traveling 50 or more miles (one way) for visitation can request an extended visit of one hour.
Prior to scheduling your appointment, your child or teen must fill out a “visit request” form. Visitors can include grandparents and siblings 9 years old and younger. Siblings between 10 and 20 and other relatives or friends fall into the category of a “special visit,” which must be earned or pre-approved.
In the tiered, behavioral reward program, the number and type of allowed visits are:
- “Freshmen” -- One visit a week
- “Sophomore” -- Two visits a week
- “Junior” – Three regular visits, plus a one-hour special visit per week
- “Senior” – One regular visit and two one-hour special visits weekly
Visitation sessions may include a maximum of four visitors unless with prior approval. Under 21 needs to be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
4. Life for PVYSC Residents
Juveniles committed to the Platte Valley detention facility receive educational services (through Weld County School District 6), and can work toward a diploma or GED. College classes and a food service vocational program may also be available.
Psychological counseling, including cognitive behavioral interventions, are offered, along with family therapy and substance abuse treatment. Specialized services are provided to offenders who have been committed for a sexual crime.
There is access to medical care at the juvenile hall, but verbal or written consent from a parent or legal guardian is required for treatment. If an outside medical or dental appointment is needed, this needs to be facilitated through the court. Parents can bring in labeled prescription medications and are responsible for providing refills. Requests for special dietary needs should be received within 24 hours of intake at the center.
Weekly nondenominational religious services are offered for residents. Recreation is permitted one hour each day and nutritious meals and snacks are provided.
Family members are allowed to bring in the following items for PVYSC residents:
- Soft-soled shoes, white or black (white laces only)
- Up to five photographs
- Two paperback books
- 20 stamps and 3 envelopes
Juveniles who have attained “Junior” or “Senior” level status can have up to four books and also may have a drawing tablet.
5. Talk to an Experienced Lawyer
Our team of criminal defense attorneys are here to help kids and teens dealing with an arrest for a Colorado juvenile crime -- or worse. We have a record of success in these cases, helping Colorado families find the best outcome for a difficult circumstance. We can help you obtain the right kind of help for your child and avoid criminal penalties. Our lawyers also assist with expunging a juvenile record in Colorado. Contact our Colorado juvenile crimes defense lawyers for a free consultation today.