The Larimer County Jail houses inmates and detainees arrested for misdemeanor and felony allegations in northern Colorado. This Fort Collins, CO, detention facility was built for 450 inmates, but can accommodate up to 617 men and women. This includes pre-trial detainees awaiting transfer or bail bond release, as well as inmates serving sentences in the jail.
The address and phone number of the Larimer County Jail is:
2405 Midpoint Drive
Fort Collins, CO 80525
The detailed information below is provided for the benefit of friends and family members of those who are held or housed in the Larimer County Jail. Topics covered by our team of Colorado criminal defense lawyers include the following:
- 1. Inmate Search Information
- 2. Larimer County Bail Bonding
- 3. Phone Policies for Inmates
- 4. Commissary Cash Accounts
- 5. Visitation at Larimer County Jail
- 6. Mail for Fort Collins Inmates
- 7. Life at the Jail
- 8. Inmate Check-In Information
- 9. Work Release Program
- 10. Help from a Criminal Lawyer
1. Locate a Potential Inmate
The Larimer County Sheriff's Department provides an online search engine to help you locate an inmate or recently booked detainee. Using this database, you can locate an inmate by typing in the first two letters of his or her last name. Detailed information is provided, including arrest date, booking number, bonding information, and scheduled court dates.
The jail also provides an up-to-date daily booking report identifying all individuals newly arrived at the jail. Alternatively, you can call the jail directly at (970) 498-5200 to determine if a friend or loved one is currently in custody. You are entitled to this public information under Colorado state law.
2. Posting Bail in Fort Collins
After an arrest, most people will be offered the opportunity to gain pre-trial freedom through payment of a bail bond. There are some cases where bond release will not be offered, and in rare cases, a suspect may be released on his or her personal recognizance (payment and collateral free).
Bail payment options are cash, putting real estate up as collateral, or going through a licensed bail bondsman. Be aware: if the accused does not appear for an ordered court date, money and property may be forfeited. (For more information on this general topic, see: How to post bail in Colorado.)
At the Larimer County jail, bond payment is accepted 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. You can find bail amounts posted on the searchable inmate information page provided by the jail. There is an additional $10 bonding fee due when the bond is paid.
To pay an inmate's bail bond, your options are:
- Cash payments – A kiosk is available in the jail lobby, which accepts cash for bail bonding. (There is also an ATM located in the lobby.) Staff members cannot accept cash directly and are no longer able to accept money orders. Cashier's checks made out to “Court Clerk” are an acceptable form of payment for cash bonds.
- Property bond – Bail can be posted using property as collateral. This is facilitated at the Larimer County courthouse. The court will accept real estate and no other form of property for bonding collateral. The phone number for the Larimer County Justice Center is: (970) 494-3500
- Bail Bondsman – A bail bondsman will post a surety bond for you, charging a percentage fee and securing the loan with collateral. The jail does not recommend specific bonding agents, but posts a listing from the phone directory in the lobby. You can also choose a company online.
Note that once a bail bond is paid, there may be a delay of several hours before the inmate is processed for release.
3. Phoning an Inmate
Inmates at the Larimer County jail cannot take incoming phone calls from friends or family, and the staff is not able to relay messages. However, inmates are allowed to make collect calls of 15-minute duration. Friends and family members can also provide funds for pre-paid telephone calls.
Calls can be facilitated through Inmate Calling Solutions (ICS). This application gives inmates one initial, one-minute free call, then the call recipient is given directions for setting up an account to receive collect calls. You can arrange for prepaid collect phone service by calling (888) 506-8407 or emailing [email protected].
Note that three-way calls are not permitted, and any attempts to initiate such a call will cause immediate disconnection. All phone calls are subject to monitoring and recording. This means you should avoid discussions about criminal charges, as incriminating statements can be held against the inmate in court.
Unwanted phone calls from Larimer County inmates can be blocked through the automated phone system. If you need assistance blocking calls, call (970) 498-5200 and ask for a supervisor.
4. Deposits for Inmate Commissary Accounts
The commissary provides food, hygiene and comfort items for purchase by inmates at the jail. In addition, haircuts and other services are available for a fee. Family and friends can contribute to inmate funds by make a deposit into the inmate's account. These deposits can be accomplished online, over the phone, or by using the kiosk in the jail lobby.
Note that this money may also be used for medical services co-pays or to cover other unpaid fees. If money remains in the account when the inmate is released, a check will be issued to return the funds.
Below is more detailed information about cash account deposits for Fort Collins inmates:
- At the Jail – The lobby kiosk accepts cash and Visa or Mastercard credit and debit card deposits for the inmate's account. Note that a fee will be assessed for credit and debit cards. Checks are not accepted.
- Online - You can go to the TouchPay website to deposit money directly into your inmate's account. To make a payment over the phone, call TouchPay at (866) 232-1899. Visa and Mastercard credit and debit cards are accepted; fees are assessed for all transactions.
5. Visitation at Larimer County Jail
The jail offers friends and family the option to visit inmates at the jail as well as a video visitation option utilizing a home computer or laptop device. In either case, visits must be scheduled in advance. To schedule a visit, call (888) 646-9437. Note that all visits are subject to monitoring and recording.
Requirements to take advantage of video visitation include a computer equipped with a webcam and microphone and a stable connection to the Internet. Off-site visits can be scheduled any day of the week.
There are rules for video visits, including:
- Displays of clothing or items featuring gang-themed symbols or colors are prohibited
- Do not use vulgar language or display vulgar images during the visitation
- Nudity and explicit activity is prohibited
At the discretion of Larimer County jail staff, video visits may be changed, canceled, or denied.
Visits at the Jail
Visitation at the jail takes place Tuesdays and Wednesdays only. These visits are not private or face to face, but take place in the lobby area using a visitation booth equipped with a video screen. Visiting hours are as follows:
For inmates with last names beginning with the letters A through M: Tuesday, 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm
For inmates with last names beginning with N through Z: Wednesday, 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm
All visits must be scheduled at least 24-hours in advance and may be scheduled up to two weeks ahead. Since there are a limited number of appointments, there is no guarantee you will be able to have a visit on your chosen day – there is often a wait for onsite visits. You are limited to one on-site visit per week.
The Larimer County jail has issued several strict rules for visitation at the jail. If any rule is not followed, visitation privileges are revoked.
- You must check in 10 minutes prior to your appointment.
- Valid photo ID is required for entry. Appropriate identification includes a driver's license, state ID card or military ID. Visitors who do not check in and register must stay out of the visitation area.
- Minor children (17 and under) must arrive in the company of a parent or legal guardian. Bring a copy of the child's birth certificate for check-in.
- Children five years old or younger must remain seated upon the lap of their parent or guardian.
- All participants should remain seated throughout visitation.
- Visitors may be searched. If you have an outstanding warrant, you may not visit the jail.
- With the exception of identification and car keys, do not bring in any items to the visitation area. No cell phones, food, or drinks.
6. Mail Policies
Letters or cards are will not be accepted by staff members at the jail. You can mail letters to an inmate using the following address:
Larimer County Jail
Inmate full name
2405 Midpoint Drive
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Envelopes should be plain and include your return name and address. No additional writing, drawings, stickers, lipstick impressions or other embellishments should be added to the envelope.
Photographs may be enclosed in the envelope, but no other items should be mailed to inmates. Nude or explicit photos are prohibited. Contraband will be destroyed.
Newly purchased books can be sent to inmates at the jail directly from the publisher or vendor such as amazon.com. You cannot send books in any other manner. Note that there is a limit on the number of books an inmate can keep at one time.
All inmates are provided with writing materials, and stamps are available for purchase through commissary. A limited number of stamps are provided to inmates who cannot afford the cost of postage. Do not send stationary or stamps in the mail.
7. Life and Health and the Jail
Inmates are provided with three square meals a day and basic hygiene items. Medical care is readily available. There are co-pays for medical treatment, but care will be provided regardless of an inmate's ability to pay up front. (Debts are tracked, however, for future collection.) As dictated by HIPAA privacy laws, the jail staff cannot provide medical information regarding inmates over the phone.
Family or friends can bring in prescription medication, clear eyeglasses or contact lenses. These should be dropped off at the lobby front desk Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 7 p.m. Prescriptions must be presented in their original container.
Inmates are housed according to several factors and segregated by gender and classification. According to provided information, the male to female ratio is about 80% to 20% at this jail, and inmates incarcerated on felony convictions constitute 85% of the population. Violent convicts are kept apart from other inmates.
The Larimer County detention center offers programs to help inmates increase their chances of success after serving their sentence. These programs include:
A Citizen's Improvement Program, which allows inmates to earn privileges by attending scheduled events. These include Alcoholics Anonymous and Narcotics Anonymous meetings, religious services, and educational/life skills classes.
Transformations and Choices, which is a structured, 40-hour program for inmates interested in changing their lives. Including a Myers-Briggs Type Indicator personality test, this program is said to help inmates get to the root of past problems and change distorted thought patterns.
8. Inmate Check-In
This information is provided for inmates arriving at the Larimer County jail to begin serving a sentence. First, and most importantly, do not arrive at the jail under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
The following items should be brought to the jail with you:
- Government issued ID
- Court documents
- Cash to pay $30 booking fee, and for commissary
You may also bring:
- Medications in their original container
- Eyeglasses or contacts (no tinted lenses)
No other property should be brought to intake, including books or electronic devices. Tobacco products are prohibited and will be destroyed.
9. Work Release
If a judge has provided you with a work-release sentence in Larimer County, you must attend an orientation session within 14 days of sentencing. The address for orientation is 2307 Midpoint Drive, Entrance 2, in Fort Collins.
All orientation sessions begin at 8 a.m. Monday through Friday. You can attend on a drop-in basis, no reservations required. It is imperative that you attend an orientation or you will lose your opportunity for work release. At the orientation, you will receive a start date and time to begin serving your work release sentence. Note that there is often a wait list of two to four weeks.
10. Talk to a Criminal Attorney
Do you or your loved one need legal representation for a criminal charge? The experienced criminal attorneys at the Colorado Legal Defense Group work to obtain justice for clients, with a strong record of success. We have helped many people avoid incarceration and other penalties -- or beat the charges entirely. For a free consultation and case assessment, please call (303) 222-0330 or contact us online today.