Allowing someone to manufacture or store controlled substances on your property
Colorado law makes it a Colorado level 1 drug misdemeanor to:
- Knowingly or intentionally maintain, rent out or let someone use property if you know the property is used for distributing or transporting an unlawful controlled substance;
- Knowingly or intentionally open or maintain any place you know is used for unlawfully manufacturing a controlled substance; or
- Manage or control any building, room, or enclosure, either as an owner, lessee, agent, employee, or mortgagee, and knowingly or intentionally rent, lease, or make available for use, with or without compensation, the building, room, or enclosure if you know it is used for the purpose of unlawfully manufacturing a controlled substance.
Punishment under Colorado 18-18-411 C.R.S.
Penalties for violating Colorado 18-18-411 C.R.S. can include:
- 6 mos-18 months in jail, and/or
- A fine of $500-$5,000.
18-18-411 C.R.S. defenses
Common defenses to Colorado 18-18-411 C.R.S. include (but are not limited to):
- The property wasn't yours,
- You didn't know anyone was making illegal drugs on the property,
- The crime was committed by a trespasser and you didn't know the person was there,
- You notified a law enforcement agency with jurisdiction to make an arrest for the illegal conduct, or
- Evidence against you was obtained as the result of an illegal search or seizure.
Call us for help…
If you or someone you know has been arrested for a Colorado drug crime, our caring Colorado criminal defense lawyers may be able to help.
We are experienced at defending clients throughout Colorado on all sorts of drug crimes – from simple misdemeanor possession to felony manufacturing and distribution of narcotics.
To schedule a free consultation with one of our skilled Colorado drug defense attorneys, simply fill out the form on this page. Or call us at our Denver home office:
Colorado Legal Defense Group
1400 16th Street Ste. 400
16 Market Square
Denver CO 80202