Douglas County Jail Inmate Information

Douglas County Jail exterior - Robert A. Christensen Justice Center
Robert A. Christensen Justice Center -- Douglas County Jail


The Douglas County jail is located in Castle Rock, CO, about 30 miles south of Denver and 40 miles north of Colorado Springs. Also known as the Robert A. Christensen Justice Center, this facility houses recent detainees, people awaiting trial and inmates serving time for a Colorado misdemeanor. The address of the detention center is 4000 Justice Way, and the main phone number is (303) 660-7550.

The following information is provided for the benefit of family and friends with loved ones incarcerated at the Douglas County Jail.

To skip ahead to a selected topic, click on one of the links below.

1. Locate a Douglas County Jail Inmate

To locate a family member or friend who may have been booked into this jail, call (303) 660-7550 or use the Douglas County Sheriff's Office (DCSO) Inmate Inquiry page. This database will also provide bail bond information, if available. Note that when an arrestee's criminal charge originates from another police department, he or she will be transported to that agency. The DCSO does not provide transport information in these cases.

Arrested juveniles are not taken to the Douglas County jail, but are transported to the Juvenile Assessment Center located at 7375 South Potomac Street in Centennial. The phone number there is (720) 874-3381.

2. How to Bail Out an Inmate at Douglas County Jail

Once an individual is booked into the Douglas County jail, release from incarceration can often be obtained through payment of a bail bond. Payment may come from the accused, or a friend or family member can post bail. (If a suspect does not show for his or her court date, the bond purchaser will likely lose the money and suffer additional fines.)

The DCSO accepts bonds 24 hours a day, payable in cash or money order only. A $30 booking fee is expected, along with a $10 nonrefundable cash fee for each bond. A bail bond agency can be used to post the bond, unless the court has specified “cash only” for the case. A “zero bond” hold means no bond will be accepted until a judge authorizes it. In most cases, a suspect booked into the Douglas County jail can expect to be in court by 8:30 a.m. the business day following arrest.

For a detailed discussion of the process, please see our article on how to post a bail bond in Colorado

bail bonds douglas county colorado attorneys
Bail bonds are a common way of fulfilling one's bail requirements

3. How to Call an Inmate

Family and friends are not permitted to call and speak with an incarcerated individual at the jail, and messages cannot be relayed. However, one or more free, three-minute phone calls are offered to anyone booked into custody by the DCSO. Once incarcerated, inmates at the Douglas County jail are limited to collect calls and prepaid calls.

To set up a prepay phone account and buy minutes for the inmate to use, call (866) 516-0115 or visit www.gettingout.com. There is also a kiosk in the jail lobby that can be used to add money to the inmate's phone account.

Be aware that all calls are monitored and recorded, and conversations can be used as evidence against the suspect. Three-way calls are not allowed.

4. Visiting Hours & Policies

This facility allows in-person visits only from attorneys, clergy, and related professionals. Family and friends are limited to “video visits,” which can take place at the jail or through a personal computer at home. In either case, an account must first be created using gettingout.com or the Telmate kiosk in the jail lobby.

If using a home or office computer, video visiting hours are 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week. There is a fee of $9.99 for a 30-minute video visit. To facilitate a computer video visit, a PC or laptop is needed (tablets and similar devices cannot be used) and the technical requirements are as follows:

  • A high-speed Internet connection
  • Internet Explorer 7, 8 or 9 or Safari 4 or 5
  • Current installed version of Adobe Flash
  • Camera, microphone and speakers

Also, note that video conversations may be monitored or recorded, so incriminating statements should be avoided.

The hours for lobby kiosk visits are daily from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 3-9 p.m. It is up to the inmate to let visitors know when a visit can be scheduled. Jail staff do not help facilitate visits for inmates.

There is a maximum of two free kiosk visits a week for each inmate, and these are generally to be scheduled by the inmate. Additional visits, which cost $7.50 for 30 minutes, can be scheduled by friends and family. The prospective visitor should use the “Request or suggest visit time” prompt on the online or kiosk system. Once the inmate approves a requested visit, any available no-cost appointments will be utilized by the system.

All visitors to the Douglas County jail are subject to search upon entering the visiting area. The DCSO has many rules for visitors at the jail. These include:

  • Visitors must check in 15 minutes before their scheduled appointment. Visits start promptly at the pre-scheduled time, and there are no extensions for visitors who arrive late.
  • A maximum of three visitors are allowed, including children.
  • Government-issued photo identification is required for entry. Visitors under 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian. (If the inmate's spouse is under 18, proof of marriage is needed.)
  • Do not bring cell phones or any electronic devices into the visitation room. Purses, bags and backpacks must also be left behind.
  • There is a strict dress code. Shoes are mandatory, and hats and cold weather gear are not allowed in the visitation area. Clothing must not be provocative or revealing, and all undergarments must be out of sight. Attire with slogans that include profanity or messages pertaining to gangs, obscenity, drugs and alcohol is unacceptable.
  • Offensive, loud or disruptive conduct will terminate the visit and prevent future visits, as will damaging walls, partitions, or chairs.

5. Writing to an Inmate

Mail for inmates in Douglas County should be addressed as follows:

Douglas County Detention Facility

c/o Inmate's Full Name
4000 Justice Way, Suite 2630
Castle Rock, Colorado 80109-7547

Note that the DCSO will scan and inspect all inmate letters that are not marked “Legal Mail.” The letter must include a return name an address and should arrive in a plain, unadorned envelope (no stickers, lipstick marks, etc.) Greeting cards should be plain and simple, without glitter, music, and similar enhancements.

Do not send writing materials, such as envelopes and stamps, to the inmate. These are available at the jail and provided free of charge for inmates that do not have funds.

Inmates can receive appropriate paperback books and magazines. These books must be new and must arrive directly from the publisher (i.e. Barnes and Noble or Amazon).

6. Providing Funds for an Inmate

Inmates can spend money in the jail to obtain items from the commissary, such as desired food and toiletries. They can also use funds for haircuts ($10.00), photocopying and notary services, and for $5.00 medical and dental co-pays. Indigent inmates are offered the opportunity to earn money at the jail. Work at the facility provides a pay rate of $2.00 per day.

Family and friends can provide funds for inmates through an account, which can be set up at www.mycarepack.com or by calling (866) 643-9557. There is a kiosk in the lobby that can be used for cash or credit card deposits into the inmate's account. Fees are charged for all deposits, as follows:

  • For cash deposits of up to $500, a $3.25 fee is assessed.
  • For a debit card, the fee is $2.50 for a limit of $500.
  • Credit card deposits are limited to $100, with a fee of $4.95.

Inmate funds can also be deposited through govpaynow.com. It is necessary to provide the inmate's name, date of birth and a DCSO pay location code of 5500. Deposits through this site are limited to a minimum of $25 and a maximum of $100, with a $200 weekly limit. For this system, a 4.5% fee is assessed per transaction. Alternatively, funds can be deposited (with a 6 % fee) by calling (888) 277-2535.

Finally, a money order is an additional option for funding inmate accounts. Money orders should be sent to:

Douglas County Detention Facility

c/o Inmate's Full Name
4000 Justice Way, Suite 2630
Castle Rock, Colorado 80109-7547

Note that there may be a delay of several days from the time of deposit until the inmate has access to the funds. Funds deposited before 6 p.m. Tuesday should be accessible the following Sunday.

It is also important to know that if the inmate's $30 booking fee has not been paid, it will be deducted from his or her funds account. Any cash in the inmate's possession at booking will be deposited into the account, and unused funds are returnable when the inmate is released. The jail does not accept personal or company checks from the inmate. Also, inmates are not allowed to transfer funds to another inmate at the jail.

7. Health and Safety Standards for Douglas County Jail Inmates

All detainees are medically assessed when they are booked and receive a complete physical within 14 days. There are medical staff on duty 24 hours a day, and inmates also have daily access to the care of a mental health professional. Inmates are provided with three meals a day and basic hygiene necessities. If medication is needed, this must be physician prescribed and presented in standard prescription packaging.

Douglas County jail inmates are allowed to make written requests for specific special needs. Using these free “Kites,” they can request medical treatment or communicate with the courts, probation, and pre-trail services departments.

The DCSO professes a commitment to providing a safe environment for people who are incarcerated in the jail. All inmates are given a “risk assessment” upon entry into the jail, and then separated by category within the facility. Those arrested for a misdemeanor will be housed apart from those accused of a felony crime. Round-the-clock supervision is provided for all units and activities.

The DCSO assures compliance with the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA), which includes a zero tolerance policy for sexual misconduct. Any type of sexual assault or harassment while in custody should be reported via email to [email protected] or by phone at (303) 660-7500.

8. Inmate Release

Upon release from the Douglas County jail, inmates can retrieve property at the Property and Evidence unit. A letter is sent out to notify the inmate that the property can be picked up (by appointment on Tuesday or Thursday from 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.) Family or friends can pick up the property as long as a notarized letter from the inmate authorizes the release. The phone number to call is (303) 660-7558.

The jail partners with the Douglas County Department of Human Services to connect inmates with basic needs services when they are released.

Get Legal Help for a Douglas County Arrest

Operators standing by
Call us at (303) 222-0330 for help

An experienced Colorado criminal defense attorney can help you or your loved one fight the charges. For a Douglas County arrest, call the Colorado Legal Defense Group at (303) 222-0330 for a free consultation. We can help with the Colorado bail process, protect your civil rights, and facilitate your best possible outcome.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370