What are class 3 misdemeanors in Colorado?
Colorado law subdivides misdemeanors into three tiers, from class 1 to class 3. Class 3 misdemeanors are the least serious category of Colorado misdemeanors. Common examples of class 3 misdemeanors in Colorado include:
- The Colorado crime of criminal attempt to commit a class 1 misdemeanor
- The Colorado crime of false imprisonment (without force, threats, and detainment lasts less than 24 hours)
- The Colorado crime of second-degree arson (damage is less than $1,000)
- The Colorado crime of theft (value is at least $300 but less than $750)
- The Colorado crime of criminal mischief (damage amounts to less than $500)
- The Colorado crime of second-degree criminal tampering
- The Colorado crime of obtaining signatures by deception
- The Colorado crime of marrying a bigamist
- The Colorado crime of keeping a place of prostitution
- The Colorado crime of criminal invasion of privacy
- The Colorado crime of resisting arrest
- The Colorado crime of second-degree criminal trespass (usually)
- The Colorado crime of possession of illegal fireworks
What are class 3 misdemeanor penalties in Colorado?
The minimum penalty for class 3 misdemeanors is:
- $50 in fines
The maximum penalty for class 3 misdemeanors is:
- 6 months in jail and/or $750 in fines
Note that if a person is convicted of a class 3 misdemeanor for reckless endangerment, and the victim was a mental health professional performing his/her duties at the Colorado Department of Human Services, the sentencing range is 6 – 12 months in jail, and/or a fine of $50 to $750.
Other class 3 misdemeanor facts in Colorado
People arrested for class 3 misdemeanors in Colorado have the constitutional right to a jury trial of six jurors. (With the court's approbation, the defendant choose to submit to a bench trial or a tinier jury of five, four, or three jurors.) Depending on the situation of the case, the defendant may be eligible for a record seal at some point.
Though class 3 misdemeanors are not nearly as serious as felonies, some of them are legally considered deportable offenses or crimes involving moral turpitude. As a result, aliens who are convicted of certain class 3 misdemeanors might be vulnerable to being thrown out of the country.
Arrested in Colorado? Call us . . . .
Our Denver Colorado Criminal Defense Attorneys want to help you get your charge dismissed or lessened, and, if necessary, we are always ready to go to trial. Contact us at (303)222-0330 for a no-obligation consultation to talk about ways we can help your case and protect your record.
- Return to our Colorado misdemeanor main page