Colorado's school loitering law
Section 18-9-112 of the Colorado Revised Statutes makes it a petty offense to loiter on or within 100 feet of a school when:
- Anyone under 18 is present in the school buildings or grounds, and
- Your intent is to disrupt the school program or interfere with or endanger schoolchildren, and
- You have been asked to leave by a school administrator or the administrator's representative or by a peace officer.
What does it mean to “loiter”?
18-9-112 (1) C.R.S. defines the term “loiter.” That section provides:
The word “loiter” means to be dilatory, to stand idly around, to linger, delay, or wander about, or to remain, abide, or tarry in a public place.
You are not loitering if:
- You are involved in the custody of, or responsibility for, a pupil, or
- You have a specific, legitimate reason for being there (including exercising your right of lawful assembly as a part of a peaceful and orderly petition for the redress of grievances, either in the course of labor disputes or otherwise).
The penalty for loitering in violation of 18-9-112 C.R.S.
Loitering on or within 100 feet of a school is a Colorado class 1 petty offense. The punishment for loitering can include:
- A fine of up to $500, and/or
- 6 months in jail.
Call us for help…
If you have been charged with Colorado 18-9-112 C.R.S. loitering, we invite you to contact our Colorado criminal defense lawyers for a free consultation.
There are many legitimate reasons to be on school grounds. Our Denver Colorado criminal defense attorneys will make sure the prosecutor and, if necessary, the jury hear and understand your reason for doing so.
For the quickest response, simply fill out the confidential form on this page. Or call us at our Denver home office:
Colorado Legal Defense Group
1400 16th Street ste. 400
16 Market Square
Denver CO 80202