DUI classes are a standard penalty for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Colorado Springs.1 In-state residents are required to complete these classes in person. But due to COVID-19, many courts are allowing defendants to complete the DUI classes online.2
Where are DUI classes given in Colorado Springs?
The following are Level I and Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy providers in and around El Paso County. Visit the website for prices, which DUI defendants are responsible for paying out of their own pocket.
5280 Human Care Center
6059 S. Quebec St. #100-A
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
A Turning Point of Colorado Springs – North office
5160 N Union Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
A Turning Point of Colorado Springs – South office
1221 Lake Plaza Dr, Suite A
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Alpine Springs Counseling
319 14th St
Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Embark Peer Coach Academy
1102 South 21st Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80904
First Step Counseling
10292 South Progress Way
Parker, CO 80134
8120 Sheridan Blvd Suite C-215,
Westminster, CO 80003
Rocky Mountain Behavioral Health
685 Citadel Drive East, Suite 125
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
Can I take my DUI classes online?
During the coronavirus pandemic, some courts are allowing defendants to complete their DUI education classes online. Normally, it is required that Colorado state residents complete the courses in person. Out-of-state residents are usually allowed to attend online.
Either way, every defendant sentenced to DUI School should ask the judge ahead of time if they are permitted to complete the classes online. Defendants can also call the Office of Behavioral Health’s DUI Service Program at 303-866-7499 to make sure that their provider is pre-approved by the state.
How long are DUI classes in Colorado Springs?
Level I Education consists of 12 hours of drug and alcohol classes over three days. Usually, the class is divided into three different four-hour classes. The only people sentenced to Level I education are under 21-year-old defendants who had their license revoked for DUI, DWAI, or UDD (underage drinking and driving).
Level II Education is the most common DUI School course. It consists of 24 hours of classes over 12 weeks. Level II Education is a requirement for defendants who either:
- were convicted of 2 or more DUI violations in 5 years;
- were convicted of 3 or more DUI violations ever;
- had their driver’s license revoked for a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.15% or higher;
- had their driver’s license revoked for having multiple BAC tests over 0.08%; or
- refused to take a breath- or blood test after being arrested
Depending on the recommendations of the defendant’s alcohol evaluator, Level II Education students may also have to complete Level II Therapy. This is an intensive drug education and alcohol treatment program. Defendants are assigned to complete one of four different tracks depending on their case:
- Track A lasts 42 hours over 5 months. Patients are first-time DUI defendants with a BAC less than 0.15%.
- Track B lasts 52 hours over 6 months. Patients include first-time DUI defendants with a BAC of 0.15% or higher or who refused to take a chemical test.
- Track C lasts 68 hours over 8 months. Patients include repeat-DUI defendants with a BAC of less than 0.15%.
- Track D lasts 86 hours over 10 months. Patients include repeat-DUI defendants with a BAC of 0.15% or higher or who refused to take a chemical test.3
What if I do not complete my DUI classes?
Depending on the defendant’s case, failure to complete DUI School in Colorado Springs could result in the defendant being sentenced to jail. And the DMV may refuse to grant a driver’s license reinstatement.
Therefore, defendants who need extra time to complete their classes should inform their probation officer and ask the court to pre-approve an extension of time.4
- CRS 42-4-1301; CRS 42-4-1301.3; CRS 42-4-1307.
- DUI Service Program of the Colorado Department of Human Services’ Office of Behavioral Health (OBH).
- Level I, Level II, and Enrollments, Colorado Department of Revenue; See, e.g. People v. Van Buskirk, (1998) 962 P.2d 975.
- See, e.g. Smith v. Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Div., (Court of Appeals, Division Two, 1990) 793 P.2d 611.