Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
In Colorado, the possession of an altered or fake driver’s license, or use of another person’s driver’s license is a misdemeanor traffic offense under CRS 42-2-136. Unlawful possession of a driver’s license can result in a fine. In this article, our Colorado criminal defense lawyers will address:
Under C.R.S. 42-2-136, the unlawful possession or use of a driver’s license is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. This applies to the use of a driver’s license, minor driver’s license, temporary driver’s license, and instruction permit. The unlawful use of a driver’s license in Colorado includes:
There may be many reasons someone uses an unlawful license. This includes the use of a fake license to get a job as a delivery driver, or using another driver’s license to avoid using their real name. Many drivers under the age of 21 obtain a fraudulent license to try and purchase alcohol. However, the unlawful possession or use of a license can result in a traffic violation. Depending on how the license was used, it may also result in criminal penalties.
Bars, restaurants, and liquor stores have employees trained in identifying fake IDs. Increasingly, underage individuals are trying to obtain fake IDs in order to purchase recreational marijuana in Colorado. Servers, clerks, and bouncers may report fake IDs to law enforcement.
The unlawful use or possession of a driver’s license is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense in Colorado.1 The penalties for use of a fake driver’s license include between 10 and 90 days in jail, and a fine of up to $300. However, in most cases, an individual convicted of unlawful possession or a license can be sentenced to probation and avoid serving jail time.
Anyone who photographs, copies, or duplicates a driver’s license for the purpose of distribution, resale, or reuse may be charged with a class 3 misdemeanor.2 This includes making a fake license for a friend using computer photo-editing software. Penalties include up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $750.
There may be a number of possible defenses to charges of using a fake driver’s license. Your Colorado defense attorney will investigate your case and identify the available legal defenses for your case. Possible defenses include:
The unlawful use of a license can result in multiple traffic offenses or criminal penalties. Other related offenses include driving without a license, or using a fake ID. The unlawful use of a commercial driver’s license restricts a driver’s ability to obtain a license in the future.
The unlawful possession or use of a commercial driver’s license (CDL) involves obtaining a fake CDL, using another driver’s CDL, or allowing another person to use one’s own CDL. Unlawful use of a CDL is a misdemeanor offense in Colorado. Penalties include a fine; however, a conviction can also disqualify a driver from their being able to obtain a CDL in the future.
It is also unlawful in Colorado to display or use a fraudulently obtained identification card. This includes allowing another person to use your valid ID. Use of a fake ID is a class 3 misdemeanor. Penalties include up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $750.
Driving without a license is a class B traffic infraction in Colorado. This includes driving with an expired license or driving without your valid license in your possession at the time you are pulled over. Driving on a suspended license or driving without ever having been issued a license are separate and more serious offenses. The penalty for driving without a license includes a fine of up to $100. Multiple offenses can result in points on your driving record.
If you were charged for the unlawful use or possession of a Colorado driver’s license, please contact us at Colorado Legal Defense Group. Our caring Colorado defense attorneys have many years of experience representing clients who have been charged with motor vehicle violations and criminal offenses. We are among the best Colorado criminal defense attorneys to call. Contact us today for a free consultation by phone or in-person or in our Denver law office.
People who lost their gun rights due to a criminal conviction in Colorado may be able to get their gun rights restored through a Colorado Governor’s Pardon. Under the Colorado Constitution, Article IV, § 7, A pardon is an official forgiveness of the past crime, and it can restore many of the rights – including ...
No. Under Colorado Revised Statutes 18-12-108 C.R.S., convicted felons in Colorado are prohibited from knowingly possessing firearms or weapons. This law is abbreviated POWPO in Colorado for possession of a weapon by a previous offender. Pellet guns Pellet guns are a type of air gun. Air guns launch projectiles pneumatically using compressed air (or other ...
Colorado DUIs are prosecuted as class 4 felonies in the following two situations: The defendant has three prior convictions of DUI, DUI per se, or DWAI; or The incident caused serious injury, even if the defendant has no prior DUIs 1. Fourth-time DUIs Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is typically a misdemeanor ...
A medieval word, an ancient crime The word “blackmail” dates back to the 16th century and possibly earlier. As originally used, mail probably referred to rent paid to a landlord. When paid in silver, mail was known as reditus albi or blanche firmes – in English “white” (silver) mail or rent. Reditus nigri – “black” mail ...