Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
Marijuana concentrate is often produced using butane or other dangerous chemicals. Under Colorado law, using butane or other inherently hazardous substances to make marijuana concentrate is a crime.
Specifically, section 18-18-406.6 of the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) makes it a crime to knowingly:
Using butane or another dangerous chemical to make concentrated marijuana is a Colorado level 2 drug felony. Consequences of producing marijuana concentrate using a hazardous substance can include:
To help you better understand Colorado’s laws on marijuana concentrate, our Colorado criminal defense lawyers discuss the following, below:
Marijuana concentrate is the separated resin (whether crude or purified) obtained from the marijuana plant. It is marijuana that has been concentrated into an especially potent form by chemical processing or other methods.
When concentrated, this form of marijuana resembles honey, butter, liquid, irregular chunks, or a semisolid “goo.” For this reason, it is sometimes referred to as “honey oil” or “budder.” Other street names include 710 (the word “oil” backwards and upside down), hash oil, concentrated cannabis, shatter, butane honey oil (BHO), black glass, dabs and errl.
Marijuana concentrate can contain two to four times as much tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) as other forms of marijuana. THC is the chemical responsible for most of marijuana’s psychological effects. As a result, adults at least 21 years of age may legally purchase less marijuana concentrate in Colorado than other forms of marijuana – up to 8 grams of marijuana concentrate if you are a Colorado resident (as compared to 28 grams of buds), or up to 2 grams if you live out of state.
18-18-406.6 C.R.S. defines “inherently hazardous substance” as any liquid chemical, compressed gas, or commercial product that has a flash point at or lower than 38 degrees celsius or 100 degrees Fahrenheit.
Such substances include butane, propane, and diethyl ether, but specifically do not include alcohol or ethanol.
A popular method for converting weed into marijuana concentrate is the butane extraction process.
In this process, shredded or ground up marijuana is stuffed into a glass, metal, or plastic pipe having a filter at one end. Butaine or a similar substance is then forced through the open end of the pipe.
As the butane passes through the pipe, the THC in the marijuana is extracted and forced through the filter. It is then heated to burn off the remaining butane, a process which creates butane gas.
Butane gas is extremely volatile and flammable, and heating it can cause violent explosions. As a result, Colorado law makes it a serious felony to use butane other a similarly hazardous substance to make marijuana concentrate.
Colorado courts have yet to rule on what constitutes a legal method of making concentrated cannabis in Colorado. However, methods that do not involve inherently dangerous substances might include:
Manufacturing or permitting the manufacture of marijuana concentrate with a hazardous substance is a Colorado level 2 drug felony.
Punishment for the unlawful manufacture of marijuana concentrates can include:
However, prison time for unlawfully manufacturing marijuana concentrate can increase to as much as 16 years if you are subject to Colorado’s aggravated drug sentencing rules – for instance, if you are on parole for a felony at the time of the offense.
The best defense to the charge of manufacturing marijuana concentrate with a hazardous substance depends on the specific facts of your case. But common defenses we often see include (but are not limited to):
If you or someone you know has been charged with unlawfully manufacturing concentrated cannabis or another violation of Colorado marijuana or drug laws, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation.
Don’t let an innocent mistake involving a legal drug turn you into a convicted felon. Contact us using the form on this page, or call us at our Denver home office to find out how we can help you – and why we are considered some of the best marijuana defense lawyers in Colorado.
Our Denver home office is conveniently located at:
Colorado Legal Defense Group
4047 Tejon Street
Denver CO 80211
Yes. People may appeal the Colorado DMV’s decision to suspend or revoke their driver’s license. The appeals process requires filing a complaint with the local district court within 35 days of the DMV hearing’s decision. Ultimately, the district court judge will review the DMV transcript and legal briefs to determine whether to affirm the DMV’s ...
The involuntary civil commitment process in Colorado allows police or medical professionals to detain someone in certain situations. The goal of this emergency detention is to protect someone who is suffering from mental problems. The detention can last for up to 72 hours. It can turn into a longer treatment after a court hearing. People cannot be held in jail ...
You may have to disclose criminal convictions to an employer in Colorado. Starting in August, 2019, the law on this topic is changing drastically. Colorado passed a “ban-the-box” law that forbids employers from asking about prior convictions. However, the law only applies to job applications, not subsequent interviews. It also has numerous other exceptions. As ...
Hit and run is generally treated as a felony charge only if the accident caused an injury to another person. Leaving the scene of an accident that only causes property damage is usually just a misdemeanor. In some states, the amount of property damage can also turn a misdemeanor hit and run into a felony. ...